Men's Golfer Alejandro Canizares Selected For 2004 European Palmer Cup Squad

June 16, 2004

The European Palmer Cup presented by Monster Selection Committee has named Arizona State men's golfer Alejandro Canizares to the 2004 European squad, it was announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America. The eighth Palmer Cup will be played August 6-7 at Ballybunion Golf Club in County Kerry, Ireland. The first six Ryder Cup-style competitions were played between the United States and Great Britain and Ireland before expanding to all of Europe last year. A record six European nations will be represented in the 2004 event.

The European team for the 2004 - which will be coached by Sweden's Magnus Grankvist and Graham Kaye of Switzerland will consist of Lars Brovold; Canizares and Gonzalo Casta�o of Spain; Rhys Davies of the United Kingdom; Ireland's Gareth Maybin; Francesco Molinari of Italy; Sweden's Alex Nor�n; and Switzerland's Martin Rominger. Brovold (Alabama), Canizares (Arizona State), Davies (East Tennessee State), Maybin (South Alabama), Nor�n (Oklahoma State) and Rominger (South Carolina) compete collegiately in the United States.

Norway, Italy and Switzerland will be represented for the first time in the Palmer Cup.

Canizares and Casta�o competed in the 2003 Palmer Cup presented by Monster. The Spaniards were playing partners in the four-ball and foursomes matches with each earning a 3-1 and helping lead Europe to a 14-10 victory.

The U.S. leads the Palmer Cup presented by Monster Series, 4-2-1.

Canizares, a third-team All-American in 2003-2004, earned first-team honors in his freshman year after winning the 2003 NCAA individual championship. He had a 71.38 stroke average in 2003-2004 and had eight top-10 finishes and added three top-fives, including his third title in two seasons by earning medalist honors at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational on April 9-10.

He has a 71.49 career stroke average and also has posted a 3.9 grade point average in his first two years at Arizona State and was a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic pick this past season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder