Oswald Named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Co-Coach Of The Year

Second-year Oregon State men's rowing coach Kjell Oswald was named the Pacific-10 Conference co-Coach of the year, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced Friday.

OSU rowers Chris Callaghan and Adam Wing were named to the 13-member All-Pac-10 team.

Oswald shares the Coach of the Year award with Washington coach Bob Ernst after leading the Beavers to a ninth-place finish at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association NationalChampionships earlier this month.

The Beavers placed third at the Pac-10 Championships, and climbed as high as seventh in the regular season coaches poll - OSU's highest ranking ever.

The Coach of the Year award is Oswald's first and the first for any OSU rowing coach, men's or women's.

Oswald earned the honor in just his second season at the helm of the Beaver program; he served two years as an assistant under former coach Dave Reischman during the 2001 and 2002 seasons.

Oswald rowed collegiately in Ernst's program at Washington before a back injury cut his career short midway through his sophomore year.

Callaghan (Tualatin, Ore./Wilsonville HS) rowed the three seat in his third year as a member of the varsity eight.

Wing (Union, Ore./Union HS), also a senior, rowed the two seat and was a two-year varsity eight rower.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder