UCLA's 2004-05 Men's Basketball Schedule Released

June 26, 2004

Six consecutive games in Pauley Pavilion to start the season and eight of UCLA's first nine contests in Pauley are among the highlights of UCLA's 2004-05 men's basketball schedule, released Friday.

The Bruins start the season with two home exhibition contests (Friday, Nov. 5 vs. Simon Fraser (Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada) and Thursday, Nov. 11 vs. Centro Universitario Mineiro Uberlandia (Brazil). UCLA then opens the regular season with four consecutive nonconference home games (Saturday, Nov. 20 vs. Chicago State; Tuesday, Nov. 23 vs. Western Illinois; Saturday, Nov. 27 vs. UC Irvine and Tuesday, Nov. 30 vs. Long Beach State).

Two of UCLA's next three non-league games are also in Pauley Pavilion (Saturday, Dec. 11 vs. Pepperdine and Saturday, Dec. 18 vs. Michigan).

On Sunday, Dec. 5 at The Arrowhead Pond in Anaheim, the Bruins will play in the 11th annual Wooden Classic against Boston College. It will be UCLA's eighth appearance in the Wooden Classic (the Bruins are 5-2 and lost last year to Kentucky, 52-50).

The Bruins' first game out of southern California will be Tuesday, Dec. 21, facing Michigan State in East Lansing. UCLA, 11-17 overall last season and 7-11 in the Pac-10 (tied for seventh-place), had one of its biggest wins last season vs. MSU, beating the Spartans 64-58 in Pauley Pavilion on Dec. 20, when the basketball floor in Pauley was named Nell and John Wooden Court. Following UCLA's game at Michigan State, UCLA will have only one remaining nonconference contest, traveling to South Bend, IN to play Notre Dame on Saturday, Feb. 26.

The Bruins open Pac-10 play on the road, playing at Oregon State in Corvallis on Friday, Dec. 31 and at Oregon in Eugene on Sunday, Jan. 2. UCLA opens conference home play in Pauley Pavilion against the Washington schools (Thursday, Jan. 6 vs. Washington State and Saturday, Jan. 8 vs. Washington).

The 2005 Pac-10 Tournament will take place March 10-12 (Thursday-Saturday) at The Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Eight teams on this year's Bruin schedule advanced to postseason play last season - five in the NCAA Tournament (nonconference teams Boston College and Michigan State, along with Pac-10 opponents Stanford, Arizona and Washington) and three in the NIT (non-league opponents Michigan, the 2004 NIT Champion and Notre Dame, along with Pac-10 opponent Oregon, an NIT Final Four participant).

Complete Schedule

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close