USA Volleyball Announces Women's Olympic Team Nominations

July 9, 2004

Colorado Springs, Colo. - USA Volleyball nominates the following 12 athletes to the U.S. Women's Olympic Team pending certification by the United States Olympic Committee:

Setters-Robyn Ah Mow-Santos (Honolulu, Hawaii) and Lindsey Berg (Honolulu, Hawaii); Middle Blockers-Wiz Bachman (Lakeville, Minn.); Heather Bown (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and Danielle Scott (Baton Rouge, La.); Outside Hitters-Tara Cross-Battle (Houston, Texas), Ogonna Nnamani (Normal, Ill.), Keba Phipps (Las Vegas, Calif.) and Logan Tom (Salt Lake City, Utah); Opposites-Tayyiba Haneef (Laguna Hills, Calif.) and Nancy Metcalf (Hull, Iowa); and Libero-Stacy Sykora (Burleson, Texas).

Under the guidance of fourth-year head coach Toshi Yoshida, the United States is ranked No. 2 in the world going into the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece. Team USA is currently competing at the World Grand Prix in Asia.

The USA women, led by four-time Olympian Cross-Battle and three-time Olympian Scott, are long on experience: a total of seven past Olympians make up the 12-player roster.

Cross-Battle becomes the first athlete in USA Volleyball history (male or female, beach or indoor) to be named to four Olympic teams. She earned a bronze medal at the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona and was also a member of the 1996 and 2000 Olympic teams.

Scott, considered one of the best middle blockers in the world, was also a member of the 1996 and 2000 Olympic teams.

Phipps, who returned to the national team in 2002 following a 12-year absence, was a starter on the 1988 Olympic team. The other four past Olympians-Ah Mow-Santos, Bown, Sykora and Tom-played on the 2000 Olympic Team that finished fourth in Sydney, Australia.

Bachman, Berg, Metcalf and Nnamani will all be making their first Olympic appearances in Greece.

For the women's Olympic indoor volleyball competition, which starts on Aug. 14, the 12 qualified teams are split into two pools. Pool A is made up of Brazil, Greece, Italy, Japan, Kenya and Korea, while Pool B consists of China, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Russia and the USA.

The USA women will be challenged right off the bat: the team will play top-ranked China to begin play on Saturday, Aug. 14. The women will then play Germany (Aug. 16), the Dominican Republic (Aug. 18), 2000 silver medalist Russia (Aug. 20) and three-time defending gold medalist Cuba (Aug. 22) to wrap-up pool play.

courtesy of USA Volleyball

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder