USC Unanimous Pick To Win Pac-10 In Pre-Season Media Poll

July 28, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - USC is the unanimous choice to win the 2004 Pacific-10 Conference footballtitle in a pre-season poll of West Coast media members who regularly cover the league. The Trojansgarnered all 24 first-place votes, marking the first time in the Pac-10 era since 1978 that one teamreceived every first-place vote. USC is the defending Pac-10 champion, as well as defendingAssociated Press national champion, after fashioning a 12-1 record last year, capped by a Rose Bowlwin against Michigan. CALIFORNIA was picked to finish second by the pollsters. Since 1978, theGolden Bears have never been picked higher than fourth in the pre-season poll. The media poll hascorrectly selected the Conference Champion in 21 of 43 previous polls, including the last four years in arow. Following are the results of the pre-season media poll (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1, first-placevotes in parentheses):

1. USC (24) 240
2. California 210
3. Oregon 192
4. Oregon State 138
5. Washington State 133
6. Arizona State 131
7. Washington 100
8. UCLA 98
9. Stanford 40
10. Arizona 38

POLL NOTES: Pre-season media poll has correctly picked the Conference champion 21 of 43 times andhas been very accurate of late in correctly identifying the Conference champ the last four years in a rowand five of the last six. . . . Since the Pac-10 era began in 1978, no team had ever before received everyfirst-place vote until USC turned the trick this year. The closest was 1992 when Washington, like USCcoming off a national championship the previous season, received 30 of 31 first-place votes. TheHuskies came through by making a return trip to the Rose Bowl following the 1992 season. . . . It is thehighest predicted finish for CALIFORNIA in the Pac-10 era since 1978. The previous high water markfor the Bears was being picked to finish fourth. . . . Of all the teams, the pollsters seemed to have themost difficulty predicting how ARIZONA STATE will fare this season. The Sun Devils were picked tofinish as high as third and as low as ninth. . . . Hope for ARIZONA. In two of the last three years, theteam predicted to finish last in the Conference has posted a winning record. . . . And remember, it's thePac-10, where six different teams have claimed the championship the last six years.

Year Media Poll Pick Actual Finish Rose Bowl/BCS Representative Predicted Finish
1961 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1962 Washington 2nd USC 2nd
1963 USC 2nd Washington 2nd
1964 Washington 3rd Oregon State 6th
1965 USC 2nd UCLA 7th
1966 USC 1st USC 1st
1967 USC 1st USC 1st
1968 USC 1st USC 1st
1969 USC 1st USC 1st
1970 USC 6th Stanford 2nd
1971 USC 2nd Stanford 2nd
1972 USC 1st USC 1st
1973 USC 1st USC 1st
1974 USC 1st USC 1st
1975 USC 5th UCLA 3rd
1976 USC 1st USC 1st
1977 USC 2nd Washington 3rd
1978 USC 1st USC 1st
1979 USC 1st USC 1st
1980 USC 3rd Washington 3rd
1981 USC 2nd Washington 4th
1982 USC 3rd UCLA 3rd
1983 Arizona 5th UCLA 5th
1984 UCLA 3rd USC 3rd
1985 USC 4th UCLA 5th
1986 UCLA 2nd Arizona State 4th
1987 UCLA 2nd USC 4th
1988 UCLA 2nd USC 2nd
1989 USC 1st USC 1st
1990 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1991 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1992 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1993 Washington 4th UCLA 6th
1994 Arizona 2nd Oregon 8th
1995 USC 1st USC 1st
1996 USC 5th Arizona State 2nd
1997 Washington 4th Washington State 7th
1998 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1999 Arizona 6th Stanford 8th
2000 Washington 1st Washington 1st
2001 Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2002 Washington St. 1st Washington State 1st
2003 USC 1st USC 1st

Media Poll has correctly selected the Conference Champion 21 of 43 times, including the last four years in a row.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder