Lopez, Enfield Named To 2004 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 11, 2004

Seniors Aaron Lopez (Santa Barbara, CA/Santa Barbara HS) and Mike Enfield (Ventura, CA/Ventura HS) have been named to the watch list of candidates for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual honor in intercollegiate soccer. The list was compiled by a coaching panel for the National Soccer Coaches of America (NSCAA), which serves as the official selection body for the MAC's Hermann Trophy.

Lopez, a defender, was a semifinalist for the 2003 MAC Hermann Trophy. Last season he earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors and helped the Bruins achieve school records for shutouts (16) and team goals against average (0.52). As a sophomore in 2002, he was the Offensive MVP at the College Cup after scoring the game's only goal in the championship match against Stanford. His strike with 1:02 left in regulation sealed UCLA's fourth NCAA title. Lopez, UCLA's team MVP that season, scored four goals in 2002, three in the playoffs.

Enfield, a midfielder, ranked fourth on the Bruin squad last season with seven assists and 13 points. The former U.S. Youth National Team standout earned honorable mention all-conference honors in 2002.

Mike Enfield

The M.A.C.'s Hermann Trophy is college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy and represents the highest level of individual achievement in the sport. UCLA has only had one past Hermann Trophy winner, Brad Friedel in 1992. Sasha Victorine won the M.A.C. Award in 1999.

The 25 players on the Watch List are considered to be amongst the top players entering the 2004 college season and are the ones to watch for outstanding play this fall. A list of 15 semfinalists will be announced in November, with three finalists selected in early December. The winner will be announced at a dinner at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, MO on Jan. 8, 2005.

2004 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List:
Knox Cameron, F, Sr. (Michigan)
Blake Camp, Mf, Jr. (Duke)
Leonardo de Oliveira, Mf, Jr. (UAB)
Mike Enfield, Mf, Sr. (UCLA)
Robby Fulton, Gk, Sr. (Stanford)
Matt Groenwald, F, Sr. (St. John's)
Ugo Ihemelu, D, Sr. (SMU)
Will John, Mf, So. (Saint Louis)
Thabiso (Boyzz) Khumalo, Mf., Sr. (Coastal Carolina)
C.J. Klaas, Mf, Sr. (Washington)
Aaron Lopez, D, Sr. (UCLA)
Trevor McEachron, D, Sr. (Old Dominion)
Guy Melamed, D, Sr. (Boston College)
Drew Moor, D, Jr. (Indiana)
Julian Nash, F, Sr. (Creighton)
Danny O'Rourke, Mf., Sr. (Indiana)
Michael Parkhurst, D, Jr. (Wake Forest)
Ryan Pore, F, Jr. (Tulsa)
Alejandro Salazar, F, Jr. (Portland)
Chris Sawyer, Gk, Sr. (Notre Dame)
Jack Stewart, D, Sr. (Notre Dame)
Marcus Storey, F, Sr. (North Carolina)
Abe Thompson, F, Sr. (Maryland)
Eric Vasquez, Mf, Sr. (Central Florida)
Jamie Watson, F, So. (North Carolina)