Robby Fulton Named to Watch List for the 2004 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

Aug. 12, 2004

Stanford, Calif. - Senior goalkeeper Robby Fulton was one of 25 players included on the second annual watch list of candidates for the men's M.A.C. Hermann Trophy. The list was compiled by a coaching panel for the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), which serves as the official selection body for the award.

Fulton enters his senior campaign with the second lowest goals against average in Stanford program history at 0.72, and ranks sixth in career saves with 118. He led the team with a 1.42 GAA and 56 saves last season, despite seeing action in just 11 games due to injury. In 2002, Fulton led the Cardinal to the College Cup Championship Game after setting a program mark with a 0.42 GAA. Fulton will serve as the Stanford captain for the 2004 season.

Defending national champion Indiana University is one of four schools that have two players on the list. Senior midfielder Danny O'Rourke (Columbus, Ohio) and junior defender Drew Moor (Dallas, Texas) are the two Hoosiers on the watch list. Another Indiana school, Notre Dame, also had dual selections to the list, both of whom are seniors: goalkeeper Chris Sawyer (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) and defender Jack Stewart (Torrance, Calif.). North Carolina, the 2001 NCAA Division I national champion, also has two front-line players on the list in senior Marcus Storey (Missouri City, Texas) and sophomore Jamie Watson (Coppell, Texas). UCLA, the national champions in 2002, placed senior midfielder Mike Enfield (Ventura, Calif.) and senior defender Aaron Lopez (Santa Barbara, Calif.) on the roster.

The 25 players are considered to be among the top players entering the 2004 college season and are the ones to watch for outstanding play this fall. A list of 15 semifinalists will be announced in November, with three finalists selected in early December. The winner will be announced at a dinner at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., on Jan. 8, 2005.

Men's 2004 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Player, Position, Class, School, Hometown
Knox Cameron, F, Sr., Michigan, Bronx, N.Y.
Blake Camp, M, Jr., Duke, Danielsville, Ga.
Leandro de Oliveira, M, Jr., UAB, Bryan, Texas
Mike Enfield, M, Sr., UCLA, Ventura, Calif.
Robby Fulton, G, Sr., Stanford, West Linn, Ore.
Matt Groenwald, F, Sr., St. John's, Mount Prospect, Ill.
Ugo Ihemelu, D, Sr., Southern Methodist, Cedar Hill, Texas
Will John, M, Soph., Saint Louis, Kansas City, Mo.
Thabiso (Boyzz)Khumalo, M, Sr., Coastal Carolina, Soweto, South Africa
C.J. Klaas, M, Sr., Washington, Cherry Valley, Ill.
Aaron Lopez, D, Sr., UCLA, Santa Barbara, Calif.
Trevor McEachron, D, Sr., Old Dominion, Woodbridge, Va.
Guy Melamed, D, Sr., Boston College, Nofit, Israel
Drew Moor, D, Jr., Indiana, Dallas, Texas
Julian Nash, F, Sr., Creighton, San Leandro, Calif.
Danny O'Rourke, M, Sr., Indiana, Columbus, Ohio
Michael Parkhurst, D, Jr., Wake Forest, Cranston, R.I.
Ryan Pore, F, Jr., Tulsa, Mansfield, Ohio
Alejandro Salazar, F, Jr., Portland, Portland, Ore.
Chris Sawyer, G, Sr., Notre Dame, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
Jack Stewart, D, Sr., Notre Dame, Torrance, Calif.
Marcus Storey, F, Sr., North Carolina, Missouri City, Texas
Abe Thompson, F, Sr., Maryland, Fairfax Station, Va.
Eric Vasquez, M, Sr., Central Florida, Miami, Fla.
Jamie Watson, F, Soph., North Carolina, Coppell, Texas

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder