UCLA Picked To Capture Third Straight Pac-10 Men's Soccer Title

Aug. 17, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UCLA, coming off its second consecutive Pacific-10 Conference men's soccer title in 2003, was picked to win a third straight Conference crown by a vote of the league's coaches.

UCLA received 14 points, edging out CALIFORNIA (13 points). The Bruins collected three first-place votes while the Bears received one. The final first-place vote went to WASHINGTON, picked third with 10 points. STANFORD held fourth position with eight points, followed by OREGON STATE (five points).

A 19-game unbeaten streak highlighted UCLA's Conference title run in 2003, as the Bruins became the first team ever to run the table in Pac-10 play. The 2002 NCAA Champions advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals before having their unbeaten streak snapped by eighth-ranked Indiana. Oregon State finished second in the Pac-10 with a 7-3-0 record in Conference play. The Beavers hosted postseason action for the first time in program history, but fell in the first round to Portland. Third-place cohabitants California and Washington (both 5-4-1) also advanced to the NCAA Championship, making 2003 the third straight year in which four Pac-10 teams advanced to the postseason. The Bears reached the second round, losing 2-1 to UC Irvine, while the Huskies advanced to the third round before falling 3-2 in overtime at St. Louis.

Following are the results of the preseason coaches poll, coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 4-3-2-1, first place votes in parentheses):

	1. 	UCLA (3)        14	2.	CALIFORNIA (1)  13	3. 	WASHINGTON (1)  10	4. 	STANFORD         8	5. 	OREGON STATE     5
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder