Blue, Quinn Selected As Pre-Season Wade Trophy Candidates

Aug. 18, 2004

Atlanta, GA - UCLA women's basketball standouts Nikki Blue and Noelle Quinn have been selected as pre-season candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy. The list is comprised of 31 student-athletes who are members of an NCAA Division I institution and are selected based on the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.Both Blue and Quinn were also selected to the Wooden Awards Pre-Season All-America team.'The 2004-05 State Farm Wade Trophy preseason list is an example of how dynamic and exciting the game of women's college basketball has become,' said Jeanne Lenti-Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director, DePaul University. 'These 31 student-athletes represent the best and brightest and we look forward to an outstanding year of college women's basketball.'Blue had another standout season in 2003-04, earning first-team All-Pac-10 honors and Pac-10 All-Tournament acclaim for the second year in a row. She finished the season ranked amongst the conference leaders in several categories - second in steals (2.97), third in assists (4.93), seventh in scoring (15.2) and 12th in rebounding (5.6). She ranked amongst the Top 30 in the nation in steals per game, and her season total of 148 assists tied for seventh on UCLA's all-time list. Blue ended the season by scoring an NCAA-tournament school-best 33 points against Minnesota.Quinn sparkled in her freshman season of 2003-04, earning Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Freshman All-America acclaim. She averaged a team-best 15.9 points and 7.7 rebounds per game and ranked in the Top 10 in the Pac-10 Conference in scoring (sixth), rebounding (fifth), assists (ninth), steals (fourth), assist/turnover ratio (seventh), defensive rebounds (fourth) and offensive rebounds (ninth). Quinn set a school freshman record with six-straight 20-point games and recorded UCLA's first triple-double in eight years, registering 20 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists at Cal on Feb. 19. She led the team with eight double-doubles and had 24 double-digit scoring games, including 21 consecutive to end the season.The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 28th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).The 2005 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana, April 2-5, 2005.The pre-season candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:Seimone Augustus (LSU) - Junior
Jacqueline Batteast (Notre Dame) - Senior
Steffanie Blackmon (Baylor) - Senior
Nikki Blue (UCLA) - Junior
Jamie Carey (Texas) - Senior
Monique Currie (Duke) - Junior
Shyra Ely (Tennessee) - Senior
Katie Feenstra (Liberty) - Senior
Sandora Irvin (TCU) - Senior
Dionnah Jackson (Oklahoma) - Senior
Tiffany Jackson (Texas) - Sophomore
Temeka Johnson (LSU) - Senior
Ivory Latta (North Carolina) - Sophomore
Camille Little (North Carolina) - Sophomore
Sancho Lyttle (Houston) - Senior
Kristen Mann (UC Santa Barbara) - Senior
Janel McCarville (Minnesota) - Senior
Jessica Moore (Connecticut) - Senior
Shawntinice Polk (Arizona) - Junior
Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers) - Senior
Noelle Quinn (UCLA) - Sophomore
Heather Schreiber (Texas) - Senior
Khara Smith (DePaul) - Junior
Kim Smith (Utah) - Junior
Ann Strother (Connecticut) - Junior
Barbara Turner (Connecticut) - Junior
Kendra Wecker (Kansas State) - Senior
Dee-Dee Wheeler (Arizona) - Senior
Tan White (Mississippi State) - Senior
Tanisha Wright (Penn State) - Senior
Sophia Young (Baylor) - Junior

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder