Four Pac-10 Student-Athletes Named To Preseason Wade Trophy Watch List

Aug. 18, 2004

ATLANTA, Ga.-- Four Pac-10 women's basketball student-athleties -- UCLA's Nikki Blue and Noelle Quinn and ARIZONA's Shawntinice Polk and Dee-Dee Wheeler -- are among the 31 players named to the preseason watch list for The State Farm Wade Trophy, the national awards committee announced today.

Blue, Polk and Wheeler are two-time All-Pac-10 selections, while Quinn, last year's Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, was a member of the 2004 All-Pac-10 Team. Polk, a two-time Associated Press honorable mention All-American, was one of two State Farm Wade Trophy finalists from the Pac-10 in 2003-04, along with former STANFORD standout Nicole Powell.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Alana Beard (Duke University). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Stanford's Jennifer Azzi (1990) is the lone Pac-10 student-athlete to receive the award.

A committee consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators compiled the list of student-athletes who are members of NCAA Division I institutions and are selected based on the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

'The 2004-05 State Farm Wade Trophy preseason list is an example of how dynamic and exciting the game of women's college basketball has become,' said Jeanne Lenti-Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director, DePaul University. 'These 31 student-athletes represent the best and brightest and we look forward to an outstanding year of college women's basketball.'

Of the 31 student-athletes selected for the preseason 'Wade Watch,' the Big 12 led with seven (7); the Big East followed with five (5) players; the Pac-10 and SEC each have four (4) players; the ACC and Conference USA with three (3) players; the Big Ten with two (2) players, while the Big South, Big West and Mountain West have one player represented, respectively.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 28th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2005 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana, April 2-5, 2005.

The complete list of preseason candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, can be found at

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network