Six Pac-10 Men's Basketball Players Named to Preseason Wooden All-American Team

Aug. 18, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The John R. Wooden Award Preseason Committee has selected six Pacific-10 Conference men's basketball players from five member schools to its Preseason All-American Team for 2004-05.

Ike Diogu of ARIZONA STATE, Channing Frye and Salim Stoudamire of ARIZONA, Chris Hernandez of STANFORD, Leon Powe of CALIFORNIA and Nate Robinson of WASHINGTON were selected to the team, which is comprised of 50 candidates picked by the Committee based on last year's individual performances and team records.

The members of the Preseason All-American Team, along with other players who excel throughout the season, will be eligible for the Midseason Top 30 list and the National Ballot. In mid January, the Wooden Award committee will release the Midseason Top 30 on CBS Sports. On Tuesday, March 29, 2005, the 10 player Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced. One member of the Wooden Award All-American Team will be selected on April 9, 2005 as the recipient of the Wooden Award Trophy as the nation's 'Most Outstanding Collegiate Basketball Player of the Year.' The event will be televised live from The Los Angeles Athletic Club on CBS Sports.

Diogu, Frye, Hernandez, Powe and Robinson were named to the 2003-04 All-Pac-10 team, with Stoudamire receiving honorable mention accolades. Powe was also named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and a member of the Pac-10 All-Freshman team. Last season's Pac-10 Player of the Year, Josh Childress of Stanford, was named to the 10 player Wooden Award All-American Team for 2003-04.

For more information, please visit