Andrew Walter Named to the Walter Camp Award Watch List

Aug. 19, 2004

New Haven, Conn. -- Arizona State University senior quarterback Andrew Walter is among 40 'players to watch' for the 2004 Walter Camp Football Foundations prestigious Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 13, 2005 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.Last year's recipient was University of Pittsburgh wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, the first-ever sophomore to capture the honor.Walter Camp, 'The Father of American football,' first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale University athlete and football coach, is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation, a New Haven-based all-volunteer group, was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year 'Watch List'Marion Barber III, RB, MinnesotaCedric Bensen, RB, TexasJosh Bullocks, LB, NebraskaTimmy Chang, QB, HawaiiPatrick Cobbs, RB, North TexasDan Cody, DE, OklahomaMark Clayton, WR, OklahomaP.J. Daniels, RB, Georgia TechAnthony Davis, RB, WisconsinBraylon Edwards, WR, MichiganDavid Greene, QB, GeorgiaMatt Grotegoed, LB, USCTramain Hall, RB, North Carolina StateA.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio StateMatt Herian, TE, NebraskaDerrick Johnson, LB, TexasKevin Kolb, QB, HoustonChris Leak, QB, FloridaMatt Leinart, QB, USCJermelle Lewis, RB, IowaGeoff McArthur, WR, CaliforniaDonTrell Moore, RB, New MexicoLance Moore, WR, ToledoDan Orlovsky, QB, ConnecticutKyle Orton, QB, PurdueDavid Pollack, DE, GeorgiaWalter Reyes, RB, SyracuseChris Rix, QB, Florida StateAaron Rodgers, QB, CaliforniaAntrel Rolle, DB, Miami (Fla.)Brad Smith, QB, MissouriDarren Sproules, RB, Kansas StateJustin Vincent, RB, LSUAndrew Walter, QB, Arizona StateCorey Webster, DB, LSUJason White, QB, OklahomaCharlie Whitehurst, QB, ClemsonDeAngelo Williams, RB, MemphisCarnell Williams, RB, AuburnVincent Young, QB, Texas

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network