Andrew Walter One of 22 Candidates for Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Aug. 26, 2004

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Aug. 26, 2004) -- Arizona State's Andrew Walter is among 22 outstanding senior quarterbacks that have been selected as candidates for the the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation's top senior collegiate quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. Included among the elite list of candidates for the award are: Derek Anderson (Oregon State), Brock Berlin (Miami, Fla.), Jason Campbell (Auburn), Timmy Chang (Hawaii), Darian Durant (North Carolina), Charlie Frye (Akron), David Greene (Georgia), Gino Guidugli (Cincinnati), Stan Hill (Marshall), Matt Jones (Arkansas), James Kilian (Tulsa), Stefan Lefors (Louisville), Rasheed Marshall (West Virginia), Zack Mills (Penn State), Craig Ochs (Montana), Dan Orlovsky (Connecticut), Kyle Orton (Purdue), Bryan Randall (Virginia Tech), Chris Rix (Florida State), Andrew Walter (Arizona State), Jason White (Oklahoma), and Danny Wimprine (Memphis). Additional candidates could be added at a later date if their performance dictates inclusion. The nation's top senior quarterback is selected for the award from a list compiled by a select committee of football experts from across the United States. The committee will choose five finalists plus any ties and announce the list on Oct. 20. The 2004 recipient will be announced Dec. 1, with the award presentation to be made in Louisville on December 10 at the Clarion Conference Center. The organization is currently accepting ticket orders for the award dinner (502-485-3331). Tickets are $35 each or tables of eight for $280. The prestigious award bears the name of who many refer to as the finest quarterback to ever play the game of football. Established in 1987, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has previously honored 14 outstanding young men. USC quarterback Carson Palmer won the award last year. Other past recipients include Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Rodney Peete (USC, 1988), Tony Rice (Notre Dame, 1989), Craig Erickson (Miami, Fla., 1990), Casey Weldon (Florida St., 1991), Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla., 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida St., 1993), Jay Barker (Alabama, 1994), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska, 1995), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996), Payton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Cade McNown (UCLA, 1998), Chris Redman (Louisville, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), David Carr (Fresno State, 2001), and Carson Palmer (USC, 2002). In addition to honoring a player with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to deserving scholar athletes from area high schools. The organization was formerly associated with the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The Transamerica Insurance and Investment Group, a leading provider of innovative business and personal financial services, is a major corporate sponsor for the award and organization as well as Southwest Airlines, the official airline for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. Insight Communications, the eighth-largest cable operator in the United States serving Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois and Ohio, is an active sponsor and will televise the event. The namesake of the award has a storied history which has earned him the recognition of being the greatest quarterback to ever play in the NFL. An 18-year veteran of the NFL, Unitas played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville (1951-54), passing for 3,007 yards and 27 touchdowns. Unitas, who wore number 19 as a professional, had his No. 16 collegiate uniform retired at Louisville, the lone number retired by the Cardinals. He began his 18-year pro career with the Baltimore Colts in 1956 and played there until joining the San Diego Chargers for his final season. His career passing figures are mind boggling. He completed 2,830 of 5,186 passes for 40,239 yards and 290 touchdowns during his 18-year NFL career. Among his many records is one that may stand forever, throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games. Unitas was selected as the top quarterback of all-time by the Pro Football Hall of Fame 36-member selection committee. In commemorating the NFL's 25th, 50th and 75th anniversaries, he was also honored as the greatest quarterback of all time. A Pro Bowl participant 10 times and a three-time Most Valuable Player honoree, Unitas was inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame in 1979. In turn of the century listings, Unitas was featured among Sports Illustrated's top ten athletes, Time's ten most influential athletes and in ESPN's series on the 50 greatest athletes of the century. Additional information on the award or organization may be obtained from Frank Gitschier (phone: 502-897-6563).2004 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award CandidatesPlayerSchool2003 StatisticsDerek AndersonOregon State261-510 passes, 4,058 yds., 24 TDsBrock BerlinMiami (Fla.)211-352 passes, 2,419 yds., 12 TDsJason CampbellAuburn181-293 passes, 2,267 yds., 10 TDsTimmy ChangHawaii353-601 passes, 4,199 yds., 29 TDsDarian DurantNorth Carolina234-389 passes, 2,551 yds., 18 TDsCharlie FryeAkron273-421 passes, 3,549 yds., 22 TDsDavid GreeneGeorgia264-438 passes, 3,307 yds., 13 TDsGino GuidugliCincinnati227-425 passes, 2,704 yds., 14 TDsStan HillMarshall133-191 passes, 1,767 yds., 15 TDsMatt JonesArkansas132-230 passes, 1,917 yds., 8 TDsJames KilianTulsa188-331 passes, 2,217 yds., 22 TDsStefan LeforsLouisville219-357 passes, 3,145 yds., 17 TDsRasheed MarshallWest Virginia109-215 passes, 1,729 yds., 15 TDsZack MillsPenn State136-251 passes, 1,404 yds., 6 TDsCraig OchsMontana121-204 passes, 1,612 yds., 9 TDsDan OrlovskyConnecticut279-475 passes, 3,485 yds., 33 TDsKyle OrtonPurdue251-414 passes, 2,885 yds., 15 TDsBryan RandallVirginia Tech150-245 passes, 1,996 yds., 15 TDsChris RixFlorida State216-382 passes, 3,107 yds., 23 TDsAndrew WalterArizona State221-421 passes, 3,044 yds., 24 TDsJason WhiteOklahoma278-451 passes, 3,846 yds., 40 TDsDanny WimprineMemphis246-440 passes, 3,174 yds., 22 TDs

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder