Derek Anderson a Candidate for the Johnny Unitas Award

Aug. 26, 2004

Corvallis, Ore. - Oregon State University football quarterback Derek Anderson has been selected as a candidate for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation's top senior quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. The Award is selected by a committee of football experts from around the country, with the five finalists being chosen Oct. 20. The 2004 recipient will be announced Dec. 1 with the awards presentation Dec. 10 at the Clarion Conference Center in Louisville, Kentucky. Anderson, who already is candidate for the Davey O'Brien award for the nation's top signal caller, passed for a school record 4,058 yards last season in leading Oregon State to an 8-5 record and to victory in the Las Vegas Bowl. The senior tri-captain has thrown for 7,634 yards and 50 touchdowns during his career and will likely leave OSU as the school's record holder in most passing categories. The other 21 candidates include Brock Berlin (Miami), Jason Campbell (Auburn), Timmy Chang (Hawaii), Darian Durant (North Carolina), Charlie Frye (Akron), David Greene (Georgia), Gino Guidugli (Cincinnati), Stan Hill (Marshall), Matt Jones (Arkansas), James Kilian (Tulsa), Stefan Lefors (Louisville), Rasheed Marshall (West Virginia), Zack Mills (Penn State), Craig Ochs (Montana), Dan Orlovsky (Connecticut), Kyle Orton (Purdue), Bryan Randall (Virginia Tech), Chris Rix (Florida State), Andrew Walter (Arizona State) and Danny Wimprine (Memphis). Two Pacific-10 Conference individuals have won the award since its inception in 1987 - Cade McNown of UCLA in 1998 and Carson Palmer of USC in 2003.