Mitch Meeuwsen and Bill Swancutt on Lott Trophy Candidate List

Aug. 31, 2004

Corvallis, Ore. - Oregon State University football student-athletes Mitch Meeuwsen and Bill Swancutt have been selected as candidates for the inaugural Lott Trophy, to be presented to the 'impact player of the year.' The Lott Trophy is sponsored by the Pacific Club Impact Foundation, a California non-profit public benefit corporation.Meeuwsen, a senior safety from Forest Grove, Ore., enters the season with 14 career interceptions, one shy of the school record. He has started a team-high 28 career games and was an honorable mention All-Pacific-10 Conference selection last season. Meeuwsen shared the team-high for interceptions in 2003 with six.Swancutt, a senior defensive end from Salem, Ore., is considered one of the premier lineman in the country. The preseason first team All-Pac-10 selection is a tri-team captain and enters the year as the school's career record holder for quarterback sacks with 25.5.The Lott Trophy is named after two-time All-American and College Football Hall of Fame player Ronnie Lott, formerly of the University of Southern California. There are six criteria for the trophy -- integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity. The Lott Trophy includes 36 individuals. The Pac-10 is also represented by Shaun Cody (DL, USC), Will Derting (LB, WSU), Matt Grootegoed (LB, USC) and Donnie McCleskey (DB, Cal).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network