Sun Devil Cross Country Opens 2004 Season With Success in Tucson

Sept. 11, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State men's and women's cross country teams opened the 2004 season in convincing fashion Friday evening in Tucson as the Sun Devils placed numerous athletes in the Top 10 individuals at the Dave Murray Invitational hosted by Arizona. The women's race saw Sun Devil student-athletes take the Top 6 places while the men placed four of its members in the Top 8 at the races being held at the Dell Urich Golf Course. No team scores were held in a meet that featured runners from ASU, UA, Central Arizona and Pima CC.

Amy Hastings won the race for the second year in a row with a blistering 14:51 time over the 4.3 kilometer course, besting race runner-up Desiree Davila by 27 seconds (15:18). Newcomer Victoria Jackson finished third (15:27) while Anna Masinelli (15:41), Rachel Ellison (15:42) and Jessie McLaughlin (15:45) rounded out the Top 6. Also competing for the Sun Devils were Jessica Crate (8th, 15:56), Cassie Rios (9th at 16:02), Liz Lindgren (11th at 16:15), Corey Randall (15th at 16:26), Brooke Bennett (16th at 16:28) and Katie Murphy (36th at 19:10).

Aaron Aguayo led the way for the men over the 6.3 kilometer circuit, finishing third overall at 19:18. Recent addition to the team Velibor Radojevic finished sixth in his first race with the Sun Devil harriers at 19:46 with new teammates Ryan Warrenburg (7th at 19:47) and Roger Cahill (8th at 19:57) finishing closely behind. Also competing in the race for the maroon and gold were Kal Clark (13th at 20:16), Jeremy Cramer (14th at 20:17), Carlo Lozano (20th at 20:50), Griffin Lee (28th at 21:31), Derek Pisel (31st at 21:42) and Jeff Dodge (43rd at 22:41).

The meet was the first for the Sun Devils under the guidance of Louie Quintana, the teams' new head coach. Quintana replaced former coach Walt Drenth who took over the duties of head coach at Michigan State this summer.

Following a week off from competition, the Sun Devils will travel to Minneapolis, Minn., for the Roy Griak Invitational slated for Sept. 25. The women are the defending champions in the annual meet hosted by Minnesota.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network