Robinson Named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week

Sept. 13, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Split end Mike Hass of Oregon State, linebacker Dale Robinson of ArizonaState and kick returner T.J. Rushing of Stanford have been named Pac-10 Football Players of the Week.

Hass, a junior from Portland, Ore., performed in a losing cause in Oregon State's 53-34 loss at Boise State, but eclipsed a Pac-10 record that had stood for 28 years. Hass established a new Pac-10 record for receiving yards in a game when he pulled in 12 passes for 293 yards (24.4). Included were three touchdown receptions of 49, 9 and 45 yards. Hass surpassed the previous record of 289 yards, by Wesley Walker of California against San Jose State, which had stood since 1976.

Robinson, a junior from Queens, N.Y., led the defensive effort in Arizona State's 30-21 win at Northwestern. Robinson had a game-high 14 tackles, 10 solo, including three tackles for loss (-12), one of which was a quarterback sack (-10).

Rushing, a junior from Pauls Valley, Okla., gave Stanford a jump-start in the Cardinal's 37-10 win against BYU. With Stanford trailing 10-0, Rushing returned a kickoff 99 yards for a touchdown and the Cardinal went on to a 37-10 win. The 99-yard return was the third-longest in Stanford history.

Others nominated for offensive player of the week honors were tailbacks Maurice Drew of UCLA, J.J. Arrington of California and LenDale White of USC, quarterback Trent Edwards of Stanford and receivers Derek Hagan of Arizona State and Jason Hill of Washington State. Also nominated ondefense were linebackers Spencer Havner of UCLA, Matt Grootegoed of USC and Scott Davis of Washington State, end Ryan Riddle of California and safety Oshiomogho Atogwe of Stanford.

Kickers Jesse Ainsworth of Arizona State and Nick Folk of Arizona and punt returner Michael Bumpus of Washington State were nominated for special teams play.

2004 PAC-10 PLAYERS OF THE WEEKWeek Offense Defense Special TeamsSep. 4 Reggie Bush, TB, USC Antoine Cason, CB, ARIZ Kyle Basler, P, WSUSep. 11 Mike Hass, SE, OSU Dale Robinson, OLB, ASU T.J. Rushing, KR, STAN
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network