Two Former Stanford Players to Be Inducted Into ITA Women's Hall of Fame

Sept. 16, 2004

Willaimsburg, Va. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) will induct Class of 2004 into the Women's Hall of Fame this Saturday at the College of William & Mary. This year's honorees include two former Stanford players, Barbara and Kathy Jordan, who teamed up to capture the AIAW doubles title in 1978. The sisters will be honored alongside Barbara Scofield Davidson (Miami, Fla.) and Dr. Belmar Gunderson (UNC-Greensboro).

Barbara Jordan, a three-time All-American at Stanford (1976, '77 and '78), was a dominant force even before she arrived on The Farm. She did not a singles match in her age group on the USTA/Middle State Sections between the ages of 13 and 18. As a professional, she reached No. 37 on the WTA Rankings and in 1979 became the only American women during the 1970s to win the Australian Open singles title. She has served on the WTA Board of Directors and was honored with the WTA's Player Service Award.

Kathy Jordan

Kathy Jordan had tremendous success on the collegiate and professional levels. Jordan was the 1979 AIAW Singles Champion and two-time AIAW Doubles Champion (1978, 1979). After leaving school, she reached a No. 5 ranking in the world after claiming victories over Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Pam Shriver, and Tracy Austin. She won seven Grand Slam doubles titles, including three at Wimbeldon. Jordan's contributions to the sport continued off the court, as she has served as Secretary and Vice President of the WTA Board of Directors; helped initiate the circuit's first drug-testing policy; with the help of her father, Robert, started the first retirement plan for women's professional tennis players; and cofounded what would become the Advanta Championships in Philadelphia. She received WTA's Player Service Award in 1991.

Every two years, the ITA Women's Hall of Fame enshrines exceptional players, coaches and contributors in women's intercollegiate tennis. The ITA Hall of Fame Committee selects inductees from the following categories: (1) outstanding collegiate players; (2) players who attended college and later had a significant impact on women's tennis; (3) outstanding collegiate coaches; and (4) individuals or corporations that played a major role in the development of women's intercollegiate tennis. Millie West serves as curator for the Hall of Fame.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network