Sun Devil Harriers Set to Host ASU Invitational Friday

Oct. 4, 2004

Notes for the Arizona State Invitational (pdf)
TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State men's and women's cross country teams, nearly two weeks removed from another solid performance at the Roy Griak Invitational (Sept. 25), will play host to the 19th Arizona State Invitational Friday at Kiwanis Park in Tempe. The women will lead off the event with 5K race at 4:45 p.m. while the men close out the meet with an 8K circuit at 5:15 p.m.

Following the Griak races, both the men and women's teams vaulted higher up the rankings chart in their respective national Top 30 polls. The women, who entered the meet in Minnesota ranked No. 22, moved up 14 spots to take a place in the Top 10 at No. 8. The ranking marks the 46th poll in a row that Sun Devils have held a position in the national rankings, dating back to 1999.

The men jumped more positions than their female counterparts, making a 16-spot leap into No. 14 after entering the meet ranked No. 30.

The 19th Arizona State Invitational will feature 15 teams (as of Monday), including several NCAA Division I programs and numerous community colleges from around the state. Arizona State will be joined by Arizona, Northern Arizona and UNLV, as well as community college teams from Central Arizona, Gateway, Glendale, Mesa, Paradise Valley, Phoenix (College), Pima, Scottsdale and Yavapai. Two unattached teams have been formed as well.

Results for the meet will be made available on the ASU web site ( about one hour following the end of the men's race.

A year ago, both the men and women won team titles at the ASU Invitational with the women nearly posting a perfect score. Amy Hastigs won the meet while Jessica Crate (2), Anna Masinelli (3), Desiree Davila (5) and Amanda Lyon (7) combining to score 16 points (15 is perfect) to post the team's second win in a row after taking the Roy Griak Invitational two weeks earlier.

On the men's side, the Sun Devils won the eight-team race with 22 points, edging out rival Arizona (37) in the process. Juan Reyes led the way by placing second overall while Aaron Aguayo (3), Roger Cahill (4), J.J. Duke (6) and Kal Clark (7) rounded out the scorers for the Sun Devils.

The women have entered two meets this year and the results through the first seven finishers of each race were the same on both occasions. In both the Dave Murray and Roy Griak Invitationals, Amy Hastings was the first Sun Devil to cross the finish line. She was followed by Desiree Davila, Victoria Jackson, Anna Masinelli, Rachel Ellison, Jessie McLaughlin and Jessica Crate.

Last year, Amy Hastings not only became the first Sun Devil woman to win a race since the 2000 season, she also became just the third Arizona State harrier to win multiple races in a season after capturing the Dave Murray and ASU Invitationals. Following her win at the Dave Murray Invite this year, she needs one more in her career to tie the school record for individual wins at four set by Lynn Nelson, a winner of four races in the 1983 season. Nelson's total also is the individual season mark.

As with the start of any new season, many new names have been added to the rosters with seven men and seven women joining the Sun Devils for their first cross country seasons this year. For the women, the seven student-athletes include four freshmen, one sophomore, one junior and one graduate student. The men welcome four freshmen, one sophomore and two juniors to the team.

The men and women had success at the Roy Griak Invitational Sept. 25 with the women placing second and the men third. For the women, Amy Hastings led the way with a third-place finish as ASU posted 81 points. No. 2 Providence won the meet with 58 points.

On the men's side, Aaron Aguayo took fourth place in the race to lead the team to 116 points. No. 1 Wisconsin recorded the win with 21 points while No. 24 Butler took runner-up honors with 102 points.

The women return two, two-time All-Americans this year in Amy Hastings and Desiree Davila. Both earned the national distinction in cross country a year ago with Davila grabbing the accolade in the 5,000m run on the outdoor track in 2003 and Hastings adding the indoor honor for the 5,000m in 2004.

During the past outdoor track and field season, the Sun Devil distance runners again showed their dominance in the 3,000m steeplechase event at the Pac-10 Championships, this year sweeping the two races. On the women's side, Amy Hastings captured her first conference crown and extended the ASU winning streak as a Sun Devil woman has won the event each of the four years the conference has contested the race. Kelly MacDonald won the inaugural race in 2001 with Lisa Aguilera winning in 2002 and 2003.

On the men's side, Aaron Aguayo not only became the first Sun Devil to win the race since current graduate assistant Jeremy Rasmussen took the event in 2000, he also became the first ASU runner to win the regional race in the same event and earned a berth into the national meet.

Next weekend will see the Sun Devils sending competitors to two separate meets on Saturday, Oct. 16. The men and women will field teams at the annual NCAA Pre-National Meet, this year being held at the site of the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind. The remainder of the team will compete in the Canyon West Invitational. The meet, hosted by Quest Running Club, will be contested on the same course being used this weekend for the Arizona State Invitational.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder