Burks, Robinson and Williams Added to the Lombardi Award Watch List

Oct. 6, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State University football players Justin Burks, Dale Robinson and Jamar Williams have all been added to the 2004 Rotary Lombardi Award official Watch List featuring the names of 115 players. The preliminary 2004 list had been released in early May and contained 54 names.

This year, the Rotary Lombardi Award will celebrate the 35th year of honoring the finest linemen in college football. The annual Rotary Lombardi Award Dinner will be held in Houston on December 8, with all net proceeds from the dinner and related activities adding to the total of nearly $3 million that has been raised for the American Cancer Society since the events inception. Chris Spielman, the 1987 winner of the award, will serve as this year's featured speaker.

The list includes 29 offensive tackles, 28 linebackers, 24 defensive ends, 15 centers, eight defensive tackles, seven offensive guards and four tight ends.


Burks (Norwalk, CA), a senior middle linebacker, is tied for the team high with 23 solo tackles, second overall with 40 total tackles and is eighth in the Pac-10 with eight tackles per game. He also has accounted for three pass break-ups and one forced fumble.

Robinson (Queens, N.Y.), a junior strong side linebacker, leads the team with 45 total tackles (21 solo/24 assisted), tackles for loss (7.5 for 43 yds.) and is tied for the team-high in sacks (3.5). Robinson, who was named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 11), is first in the Pac-10 in sacks, third in tackles for loss and fifth in tackles per game (9).

Williams (Houston, TX), a junior who plays the Devil Backer, is tied for the team lead in solo tackles (23) and third on the team with 28 total tackles. Williams was also named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 18) and leads the team and is second in the Pac-10 with three interceptions.

Former Sun Devil defensive end Terrell Suggs won the 2002 Lombardi Award, while center Grey Ruegamer was a 1998 semifinalist.

The 115 members of the Watch List earned a place on the Watch List by earning All-American honors at the end of the 2003 or previous seasons, by being named to their respective All Conference team as selected by the conference's head coaches, or by being named to one of the pre-season honor teams.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen and those defensive players who line up within five yards of the football. While the Watch Lists highlights players who have already received national recognition, any Division I player who meets the position requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee, which is comprised of over 500 members, including all past finalists, all Division I head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2004.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder