Burks, Robinson and Williams Added to the Butkus Award Watch List

Oct. 11, 2004

Orlando-- The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) has announced that Justin Burks, Jamar Williams and Dale Robinson, all representing Arizona State University, have been added to this year's Butkus Award® Watch List.

Burks, a senior middle linebacker, is tied for the team high with 23 solo tackles, second overall with 40 total tackles and is eighth in the Pac-10 with eight tackles per game. He also has accounted for three pass break-ups and one forced fumble.

As a junior strong side linebacker, Robinson leads the team with 45 total tackles (21 solo/24 assisted), tackles for loss (7.5 for 43 yards) and is tied for the team-high in sacks (3.5). Robinson, who was named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 11), is first in the Pac-10 in sacks, third in tackles for loss and fifth in tackles per game (9).

Williams, a junior Devil Backer, is tied for the team lead in solo tackles (23) and third on the team with 28 total tackles. Williams was also named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 18) and leads the team and is second in the Pac-10 with three interceptions.

The Butkus Award® Watch List will be trimmed to 10 semi-finalists on Thursday, October 14. That list will be cut down to three finalists which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award® officials on Thursday, November 11. The winner will be announced Friday, December 10, 2004. The Butkus Award® will be presented to the winner by the award,s namesake former University of Illinois and Chicago Bear NFL Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus. The finalists, their coaches and families are invited to attend the Butkus Award® Gala festivities including a welcome reception, golf tournament and silent auction.

This year's Watch List now includes 68 noteworthy candidates that represent schools and conferences from across the nation. The independent selection committee for the 2004 Butkus Award®, comprised of 30 of the nation,s foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have already started evaluating the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire football season. Additional Watch List candidates may be added in the coming weeks. Voting for the three Butkus Award® finalists and the Butkus Award® winner will be conducted by confidential ballots of the selection committee.

The Butkus Award ® is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Past recipients include such outstanding linebackers as: Teddy Lehman (2003-Oklahoma); E.J. Henderson (2002-Maryland); Rocky Calmus (2001-Oklahoma);

Dan Morgan (2000-U. of Miami); LaVar Arrington (1999-Penn State); Chris Claiborne (1998-Southern California); Andy Katzenmoyer (1997-Ohio State); Matt Russell (1996 Colorado); Kevin Hardy (1995-Illinois); Dana Howard (1994-Illinois); Trev Alberts (1993-Nebraska); Marvin Jones (1992-Florida State); Erick Anderson (1991-Michigan); Alfred Williams (1990-Colorado); Percy Snow (1989-Michigan State); Derrick Thomas (1988-Alabama); Paul McGowan (1997-Florida State); and Brian Bosworth (1985 and 1986-Oklahoma). Created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando Inc., the Butkus Award® carries the name and support of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network