Stanford to Host First-Ever NCAA Division I Men's & Women's Tennis Championships in 2006

Oct. 13, 2004

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Committee announced the selection of its hosts for the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships today, marking the first time the men's and women's championships will be contested at the same site. Stanford will be the first institution to host the combined championship in 2006.

'We are so very proud the NCAA has accepted our proposal for a combined Men's & Women's NCAA Tennis Championship, and that Stanford will be the first host to this great event May 18-29, 2006,' noted Stanford Director of Tennis Dick Gould. 'This represents almost 20 years and $17 million of facility renovation and the result is that the Taube Tennis Center is uniquely suited for a spectacular first-time event. The NCAA tennis championships are one of the greatest and most exciting amateur events in the world. This new format will only accentuate that fact.'

Stanford University will host the 2006 event at the Taube Family Tennis Center May 18-29. Stanford has hosted the men's championships once before (1962) and the women's event four times (1991, 1992, 1997 and 2002).

The Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet approved the committee selections at its recent meeting in Indianapolis.

'We are looking forward to making history at Stanford in 2006 as they host the first combined NCAA men's and women's tennis championships,' said Peter Wright, chair of the Division I Men's Tennis Subcommittee and head men's tennis coach at the University of California, Berkeley. 'This is a big step forward for college tennis.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder