Beavers' B Squad Places Fourth

Oct. 19, 2004

GRESHAM, Ore. - Oregon State's B squad finished fourth in an 11-team field at the Jim Danner Invitational women's cross country meet Saturday at Blue Lake Park. Freshmen Heather Wales and Lisa Roberton led the way for the Beavers with 34th and 37th finishes, respectively.

Willamette took the first place honors with 36 points with Portland's B team right behind at 55. Unattached entry Lorilynn Bloomer won the competition in a time of 17 minutes, 59.19 seconds for the 5,000-meter course.

Wales finished the Blue Lake Park course in 19:34.41 and Roberton finished in 19:40.71.

'I think overall the girls ran very well,' assistant coach Rhonda Riley said. 'They all just put in a great amount of energy and effort into the race and all of them just had solid performances.'

OSU will next race at the Oregon State Track Club Invitational on Oct. 23 at Avery Park in Corvallis, Ore.


TEAM SCORES: 1. Willamette 36; 2. Portland B 55; 3. Pacific Lutheran 122; 4. Oregon State B 144; 5. George Fox 153; 6. Clackamas CC 163; 7. U. of Oregon Running Club 166; 8. Clark CC 185; 9. Highline CC 214; 10. Lane CC 216; 11. Team GFR 230.

TOP INDIVIDUALS AND OREGON STATE FINISHERS (FIELD OF 103): 1. Lorilynn Bloomer, unattached, 17:59.19; 2. Danya Rumore, Willamette, 18:08.14; 3. Camille Connelly, Washington, 18:08.41; 4. Kelsey Metcalfe, Portland B, 18:11.79; 5. Kari Holbert, Willamette, 18:20.78; 34. Heather Wales, Oregon State B, 19:34.41; 37. Lisa Roberton, Oregon State B, 19:40.71; 41. Julie Garcia, Oregon State B, 19:53.28; 45. Jaime Fuller, Oregon State B, 20:05.58; 61. Marcie Aker, Oregon State B, 20:30.46; 66. Tara Stirewalt, Oregon State B, 20:44.10; 82. Allie Schroeder, Oregon State B, 21:22.84; 86. Tia Williams, Oregon State B, 21:31.12; 101. Ashley Larson, Oregon State B, 23:20.95.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network