Nationally-Ranked Stanford Men's And Women's Teams Seek To Repeat Pacific-10 Wins

Oct. 26, 2004

San Francisco, Ca - The top-ranked Stanford women's cross county team has won eight straight Pacific-10 titles, andwill again be heavily favored to win its ninth crown when the conference meet is held this Saturday at Golden Gate Park.

The Cardinal men, ranked second in the nation, will hope to make it five straight conference titles.

The women's race will cover 6,000 meters while the men's course will be held on a 8,000 meter layout. The start and finish will be in Speedway Meadows east of the Polo Fields of Golden Gate Park. The surface is a mixture of grass, packed dirt trail with some sand and moderate hills.

Admission will not be charged for the 2004 Pacific-10 Cross Country Championships. An awards ceremony will be held immediately following the conclusion of the men's race. The all-conference team shall consist of the top seven finishers in the men's and women's conference championship races and each shall be provided an award from the conference. The eighth through 14th place finishers in the conferenece championship races shall be accorded second team honors and shall be provided a certificate by the conference office. Individual awards from the Pac-10 shall be provided to the Men's Coach of the Year, the Women's Coach of the year, the Men's Athlete of the Year, the Women's Athlete of the Year, and to the Men's Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and Women's Freshman/Newcomer of the Year.

The Cardinal women are overwhelming favorites to win not only the Pac-10 title, but the NCAA West Regionals and the NCAA titles. Sara Bei and Alicia Craig spearhead a talented crew of Stanford women runners. Bei and Craig finished 1-2 in leading the Cardinal to their eight consecutive Pac-10 title and tenth in the last eleven years. Bei and Craig were Stanford's top two runners at the NCAA meet last year, finishing third and sixth respectively. Bei was tabbed the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, while Stanford's Dena Evans was honored by her peers and received Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors.

A Stanford runner has captured first place at the Pac-10 Championships since 2001. Lauren Fleshman won the conference title in 2001, followed by Bei in 2002 and 2003.

Other top Stanford runners this year include Jeane Goff, Teresa McWalters, Anita Siraki, Amanda Trotter and Katy Trotter. Goff has run in all four of Stanford's competitions this year, and has produced two Top-10 finishes. McWalters is a redshirt freshman from San Francisco who recently finished second at the Stanford Invitational. Siraki is perhaps Stanford's most improved runner this year. In four races, Siraki has finished in the Top-10 three times including two wins. Amanda Trotter finished in the Top-5 in four races in 2004, while her twin sister, Katy, has finished no lower than eighth in all four races this year. Freshman Lauren Centrowitz has performed well this year with two Top-8 finishes in three races.

Last year, the Stanford men's team won its seventh Pac-10 title in eight years with a 68-point margin of victory over Oregon. The Cardinal also took first place at the NCAA West Regionals and capped off the 2003 season with their fourth NCAA title, and second in a row. Stanford took a 1-2 finish at the Pac-10 Championships with Ian Dobson and Grant Robison while Donald Sage placed fourth. In the last four years, a Stanford runner has won the conference individual title. In 2000, Jonathon Riley won the Pac-10 title followed in 2001 and 2002 by Grant Robison and Dobson last year.

Last year, Ryan Hall, who is Stanford's top runner this year, was tabbed Pac-10 Athlete of the Year. Hall finished second at both the NCAA West Regionals and the NCAA Championships. Hall has competed in one race this year and finished first at the recent Pre-NCAA's.

The Stanford men's team is loaded with depth and talent again this year. Twenty-two different runners have competed for the Cardinal this year. Neftalem Araia, a redshirt freshman, has developed into one of the team's top stars. Araia has competed in two races and finished third at the Notre Dame Invitational and fifth at the Pre-NCAA's. Other top runners have included Jacob Gomez and Peter Meindl. Gomez has produced three Top-10 finishes in three races, including a tenth place showing at the Notre Dame Invitational and the Pre-NCAA's. Meindl has earned two wins in three races this year.

Cardinal Catalogue: Three Pac-10 men's teams are ranked nationally in the Mondo National Rankings ... Stanford is second while Arizona State is ninth and Oregon is 28th ... The Cardinal women are ranked #1 in the FinishLynx national poll while Arizona State is eighth and UCLA is 26th ... Arizona will host the 2005 Pac-10 Championships ... The NCAA West Regionals will be in Fresno, Calif., on Saturday, November 13, while the NCAA Championships will be Monday, November 22, in Terre Haute, In ... Following the championships, final results for the mens' and women's races will be available on the University of California website ( and the Pac-10 web site (