Four UW Crews Compete at Portland Loop Regatta

Oct. 28, 2004

SEATTLE - The Washington rowing team will be represented by four crews Saturday morning when the 16th-annual Portland Loop Regatta takes place on the Willamette River's Lake Oswego-Oaks Park course.

Racing begins at 8 a.m. on the Portland section of the Willamette River. The a seven-kilometer course starts at Lake Oswego Pointe and finishes just north of the Sellwood Bridge at Oaks Park, by the Oregon Yacht Club. The head races are a break from the straight, 2,000-meter courses customarily contested by collegians. Teams start from a single-file line at set intervals and the race is conducted in a time-trial format. Crews are forced to navigate around opposing crews in order to pass while following the contour of the river.

Several crews from throughout the Northwest are expected to row Saturday, including Division I competitors Oregon State, Oregon and Portland.

The four featured races begin at 10:30 a.m. The Huskies have a varsity eight crew entered in both the men's and women's Championship Eight events. UW's junior varsity boats will vie for the men's and women's Collegiate Eight titles.

Last season Washington crews were victorious in all three events in which they entered. The Huskies' fourth entry, the men's varsity eight, broke its shell in choppy conditions during Friday's practice row and did not race Saturday. The junior varsity boat was promoted into the Championship Eight field and won the title by 39 seconds over runner-up Oregon State.

The UW women's varsity eight produced a 68-second margin of victory over second-place OSU in the Championship Eight competition. The Husky women's junior varsity posted the most decisive victory of the 2003 Portland Loop Regatta, winning the Collegiate Eight event by 1:42 over the runner-up Beavers.

Competing in the top Washington men's boat at Portland are three rowers from the varsity eight crew that won the 2004 Pac-10 championship and was the national runner-up at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Championships. The UW women also have three returning varsity eight members from the crew that won the petite final at the NCAA Championships.

The Portland Loop is the first race of the season for the UW rowers who conclude the fall racing session on Sunday, Nov. 14 with the Head of the Lake Regatta that begins at 8 a.m. in Seattle's Lake Union.

Portland Loop Regatta
Willamette River; Portland, Ore.
October 30, 2004


Men's Varsity Eight
cox -- Stephen Hertzfeld (Sr./Bethesda, Md./Chevy Chase)
stroke -- Ante Kusurin (Jr./Zagreb, Croatia/Brezovacki)
7 -- Scott Schmidt (Jr./Grosse Ile, Mich./Grosse Ile)
6 -- Giuseppe Lanzone (Sr./Mclean, Va./McLean)
5 -- Kyle Larson (Sr./Mount Vernon, Wash./Mount Vernon)
4 -- Scott Gault (Sr./Piedmont, Calif./Piedmont)
3 -- Dusan Nikolic (Sr./Belgrade, Serbia/11th Belgrade)
2 -- Aljosa Corovic (So./Zemun, Serbia/Zemun)
bow -- Dustin Kraus (So./Sacramento, Calif./Rio Americano)

Men's Junior Varsity Eight
cox -- Greg King (Sr./Manassas, Va./St. Andrew's School)
stroke -- David Holden (So./Spokane, Wash./Mead)
7 -- Matt Kopicky (Sr./Seattle, Wash./Ballard)
6 -- Cooper Lange (So./Seattle, Wash./Blanchet)
5 -- Brett Newlin (Sr./Riverton, Wyo./Riverton/Michigan St.)
4 -- Adam Van Winkle (Jr./Mukilteo, Wash./Kamiak)
3 -- Alan Oriard (So./Corvallis, Ore./Crescent Valley)
2 -- Tyler Smith (Jr./Issaquah, Wash./Issaquah)
bow -- Craig Tyler (Jr./Camas, Wash./Camas)

Women's Varsity Eight
cox -- Dana Ryan (Sr./LaJolla, Calif./The Bishop's School)
stroke -- Amanda Jensen (Sr./Tacoma, Wash./Wilson)
7 -- Alina Tabacaru (Jr./Bacau, Romania/Liceul Sportiv)
6 -- Allison DePalma (Jr./San Jose, Calif./Notre Dame)
5 -- Sarah Hubbard (So./Adelaide, Australia/Pembroke)
4 -- Janelle Dubbins (Sr./Anchorage, Ak./Robert Service)
3 -- Michael Kohan (Sr./Juneau, Ak./Douglas)
2 -- Katie Gardner (Sr./Chico, Calif./Chico HS)
bow -- Olivia Morrow (Jr./San Diego, Calif./Scripps Ranch)

Women's Junior Varsity Eight
cox -- Eva Anderson (Jr./Seattle, Wash./Shorecrest)
stroke -- Courtney Plitt (So./Mill Creek, Wash./Jackson)
7 -- Marah Connole (Jr./Helena, Mont./Helena)
6 -- Megan Kalmoe (Sr./St. Croix Falls, Wis./St. Croix Falls)
5 -- Gemma Edward-Aron (Sr./San Anselmo, Calif./ Drake)
4 -- Cara Troelstra (So./Halifax, Nova Scotia/Halifax)
3 -- Karen Magnuson (Jr./Wilmette Ill./New Trier)
2 -- Andrea Sooter (So./Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue Christian)
bow -- Liz Simenstad (So./Napa, Calif./Vintage)