Derek Hagain Named Semi-Finalist For Biletnikoff Award

Nov. 1, 2004

  • Hagan Career Game-by Game Stats

    TEMPE, Ariz. ( -- Arizona State junior wide receiver Derek Hagan has been named one of 11 semi-finalists for the prestigious Biletnikoff Award. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., hands out the annual award to college football's outstanding receiver.

    Hagan (Palmdale, Calif.) has caught 50 passes for 735 yards and eight touchdowns this season. He ranks second in the Pac-10 and 16th nationally averaging 91.9 yards receiving per game. Hagan has recorded four 100-yard receiving games this season and 10 in his career.

    He also ranks 18th nationally with 6.25 receptions per game and ranks in the top 20 in the nation among active career leaders in receiving yards (2,216), touchdowns (17), catches per game (4.4), yards per game (65.2) and yards per catch (15.0).

    Hagan joins former Sun Devil and current St. Louis Rams wide receiver Shaun McDonald to be named a semi-finalist for the Biletnikoff Award. McDonald, who ranks second in ASU history with 2,867 career receiving yards, was named one of three finalists for the award in 2002.

    Other finalists for the award include Oklahoma's Mark Clayton, Michigan's Braylon Edwards, Ohio State's Santonio Holmes, Purdue's Taylor Stubblefield, Colorado State's David Anderson, South Carolina's Troy Williamson, West Virginia's Chris Henry, Nevada-Las Vegas' Earvin Johnson, Hawaii's Chad Owens and Ball State's Dante Ridgeway.

    Three finalists will be named Nov. 15 and the winner will be announced in December at the annual ESPN awards show at Walt Disney World and feted at a February banquet in Tallahassee. Pittsburgh's Larry Fitzgerald, now a rookie with the NFL's Arizona Cardinals, won the 2003 award.

    A panel of writers and broadcasters and a handful of former receivers, including Oakland Raiders Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff, for whom the award is named, select the recipient.

    --Sun Devil Football--
  • Categories: