Justin Medlock Named Lou Groza Award Semifinalist

Nov. 8, 2004

The Palm Beach County Sports Commission is proud to announce that UCLA sophomore Justin Medlock is one of 20 semifinalists for the 2004 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the 2005 FedEx Orange Bowl National Championship.

On the year, Medlock has made 12 of 14 field goal attempts and 32 of 33 PATs. He is the team's second-leading scorer with 68 points (7.56) and ranks second in the Pac-10 in field goal percentage (85.7), first in kick scoring (7.56), fifth in scoring (7.56) and T-second (T-22nd in NCAA) in field goals (1.33).

Medlock is already in eighth place on UCLA's career field goal list with 26. Louis Perez is seventh at 29. Medlock's career percentage of .788 is second among Bruins with at least 21 career field goals.

Last week against Washington State, he made all three of his field goal attempts (27, 47, 47) and both PATs for 11 points.

The list of 2004 Lou Groza Semifinalists includes:

Jeff Babcock, Colorado State

Travis Bell, Georgia Tech

Brian Bostick, Alabama

Mason Crosby, Colorado

Stephen Gostkowski, Memphis

Tyler Jones, Boise State

Darren McCaleb, Southern Mississippi

Justin Medlock, UCLA

Mike Nugent, Ohio State

Matt Nuzie, Connecticut

Brandon Pace, Virginia Tech

Matt Payne, Brigham Young

Todd Pegram, Texas A&M

Dave Rayner, Michigan State

Joe Rheem, Kansas State

Reagan Schneider, Texas-El Paso

Alexis Serna, Oregon State

Colby Smith, Middle Tennessee

Shaun Suisham, Bowling Green

Andrew Wellock, Eastern Michigan

The voters for the Lou Groza Award are comprised of all Division I head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the country, conference officials, various NFL kickers and all previous Lou Groza Award finalists.

The three finalists for the Lou Groza Award will be announced on Monday November 22nd. Finalists will be honored at the 13th Annual Lou Groza Award Banquet on Tuesday December 7th at the West Palm Beach Marriott in West Palm Beach, FL.

The award, now in its 13th year, is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed 'The Toe,' Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

The Lou Groza Award is sponsored by AIM Riverside Press, BankAtlantic, The Breakers, Clipper Corporate Apparel, Continental Airlines, ESPN Radio 760, ESPN Regional Television, Florida Atlantic University Athletics, Florida Coca-Cola Bottling, JBS Destination Solutions, Palm Beach Kennel Club, The Palm Beach Post, Parallax Productions, Rooney's Public House, West Palm Beach Marriott and WPEC News Channel 12.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, including banquet, hotel and ticket information, please contact the Palm Beach County Sports Commission at (561) 233-1015 or visit www.lougrozaaward.com.