Blue, Quinn Named Pre-Season Naismith Trophy Candidates

Nov. 9, 2004

UCLA guards Nikki Blue and Noelle Quinn are amongst 50 pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season.

Last season, Blue was a first-team All-Pac-10 performer for the second consecutive year, averaging 15.2 points, 5.6 rebounds and 4.9 assists and 2.97 steals per game. She was impressive in post-season play, earning all-tournament honors for the second straight year at the Pac-10 Tournament and then lighting up Minnesota for an all-time UCLA NCAA Tournament best 33 points in first round action.

Quinn also earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors and was voted the conference's Freshman of the Year after a stellar first season in which she led UCLA in both scoring (15.9 ppg) and rebounding (7.7 rpg). She set a school freshman record by scoring 20 or more points in six consecutive games and she also had eight double-doubles, including a triple-double at Cal (21 points, 10 rebounds, 10 assists).

'The women's pre-season candidates represent the very best in college basketball,' said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Sports Council president. 'It will be a privilege to add any of these players to the list of distinguished Naismith Trophy winners.'

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

'The talent in women's basketball is as deep as it's ever been this season,' said Daryl Evans, vice president of advertising and marketing for Cingular Wireless. 'Cingular is excited to partner with the Atlanta Tipoff Club to present the best women's player with the most recognizable award in college basketball, the Naismith Trophy.'

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Seimone Augustus, 6-1, Jr., Guard, LSUSherill Baker, 5-8, Jr., Guard, GeorgiaJacqueline Batteast, 6-2, Sr., Forward, Notre DameSteffanie Blackmon, 6-2, Sr., Forward, BaylorNikki Blue, 5-8, Jr., Guard, UCLANatasha Brackett, 5-9, Sr., Guard, AuburnJamie Carey, 5-6, Sr., Guard, TexasMonique Currie, 6-0, Jr., Guard, DukeJessalyn Deveny, 5-9, Sr., Guard, Boston CollegeShay Doron, 5-9, So., Guard, MarylandShyra Ely, 6-2, Sr., Forward, TennesseeEmily Faurholt, 5-11, Jr., Forward, IdahoKatie Feenstra, 6-8, Sr., Center, LibertyKatie Gearlds, 6-1, So., Guard, PurdueErin Grant, 5-8, Jr., Guard, Texas TechSandora Irvin, 6-3, Sr., Forward, TCUDionnah Jackson, 5-9, Sr., Guard, OklahomaTiffany Jackson, 6-3, So., Forward, TexasTamara James, 5-10, Jr., F/G, MiamiTemeka Johnson, 5-3, Sr., Guard, LSUAlexis Kendrick, 5-7, Jr., Guard, GeorgiaLaurie Koehn, 5-8, Sr., Guard, Kansas StateCathrine Kraayeveld, 6-4, Sr., Forward, OregonIvory Latta, 5-6, So., Guard, North CarolinaCamille Little, 6-1, So., F/G, North CarolinaSancho Lyttle, 6-4, Sr., C/F, HoustonKristen Mann, 6-2, Sr., Forward, UC Santa BarbaraJanel McCarville, 6-2, Sr., Center, MinnesotaJessica Moore, 6-3, Sr., C/F, ConnecticutLoree Moore, 5-9, Sr., Guard, TennesseeBernice Mosby, 6-1, Jr., Forward, FloridaChelsea Newton, 5-11, Sr., Guard, RutgersShawntinice Polk, 6-5, Jr., Center, ArizonaCappie Pondexter, 5-9, Sr., Guard, RutgersNoelle Quinn, 6-0, So., Guard, UCLAKathrin Ress, 6-4, So., Forward, Boston CollegeAlesha Robertson, 6-0, So., Forward, Texas TechHeather Schreiber, 6-2, Sr., Forward, TexasKhara Smith, 6-2, Jr., Forward, DePaulKim Smith, 6-1, Jr., Forward, UtahAnn Strother, 6-2, Jr., Guard, ConnecticutKelley Suminski, 5-9, Sr., Guard, StanfordCarla Thomas, 6-3, So., Forward, VanderbiltBarbara Turner, 6-0, Jr., F/G, ConnecticutKendra Wecker, 5-11, Sr., Forward, Kansas StateDee-Dee Wheeler, 5-6, Sr., Guard, ArizonaTan White, 5-7, Sr., Guard, Mississippi StateTanisha Wright, 5-11, Sr., Guard, Penn StateSophia Young, 6-1, Jr., Forward, BaylorShanna Zolman, 5-10, Jr., Guard, Tennessee

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network