Shaun Cody Named Finalist For Lombardi Award

Nov. 9, 2004

Senior defensive lineman Shaun Cody has been named one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award, presented to the nation's top collegiate lineman.

Also named as finalists were Georgia defensive end David Pollack, Wisconsin defensive end Erasmus James, and Texas outside linebacker Derrick Johnson.

This year's winner will be announced at the conclusion of the Rotary Lombardi Award Dinner, on Dec. 8 at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston.

This marks the first time since 1990 that an entire class of Lombardi finalists has been made up of seniors.

The four finalists were selected from a group of 12 semifinalists in a second round of national voting by the members of the Rotary Lombardi Award Selection Committee. That committee is comprised of nearly 500 voters, including all Division I head coaches, all past finalists of the Rotary Lombardi Award, and a selection of writers and broadcasters from around the country.

Cody, a 4-year starter who was a pre-season All-American, splits time between defensive tackle and defensive end for the top-ranked Trojans. He has a team-best 8 sacks among his 11 tackles for loss and has 31 total tackles, 2 forced fumbles, 2 pass deflections and a blocked field goal in 2004. He anchors a USC defense that is ranked in the top 6 in every ncaa defensive category.

He is the first Lombardi finalist from USC since Tim Ryan in 1989 and is looking to become the second winner produced by the Trojans, joining Brad Budde (1979). USC also has had three finalists: nose guard George Achica in 1982 and outside linebacker Jack Del Rio in 1984 besides Ryan.