Six Pac-10 Women's Players Named To Preseason Naismith List

Nov. 9, 2004

Six Pac-10 players are listed among 50 of the country's top collegiate women's basketball players in contention for the Naismith Trophy, presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today: UCLA's Nikki Blue and Noelle Quinn, Shawntinice Polk and Dee-Dee Wheeler of ARIZONA, OREGON's Cathrine Kraayeveld and Kelley Suminski of STANFORD.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season.

'The women's pre-season candidates represent the very best in college basketball,' said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Sports Council president. 'It will be a privilege to add any of these players to the list of distinguished Naismith Trophy winners.'

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

'The talent in women's basketball is as deep as it's ever been this season,' said Daryl Evans, vice president of advertising and marketing for Cingular Wireless. 'Cingular is excited to partner with the Atlanta Tipoff Club to present the best women's player with the most recognizable award in college basketball, the Naismith Trophy.'

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Player Height Class Position School
Seimone Augustus 6-1 Jr. Guard LSU
Sherrill Baker 5-8 Jr. Guard Georgia
Jacqueline Batteast 6-2 Sr. Forward Notre Dame
Steffanie Blackmon 6-2 Sr. Forward Baylor
Nikki Blue 5-8 Jr. Guard UCLA
Natasha Brackett 5-9 Sr. Guard Auburn
Jamie Carey 5-6 Sr. Guard Texas
Monique Currie 6-0 Jr. Guard Duke
Jessica Deveney 5-9 Sr. Guard Boston College
Shay Doron 5-9 So. Guard Maryland
Shyra Ely 6-2 Sr. Forward Tennessee
Emily Faurholt 5-11 Jr. Forward Idaho
Katie Feenstra 6-8 Sr. Center Liberty
Katie Gearlds 6-1 So. Guard Purdue
Erin Grant 5-8 Jr. Guard Texas Tech
Sandora Irvin 6-3 Sr. Forward TCU
Dionnah Jackson 5-9 Sr. Guard Oklahoma
Tiffany Jackson 6-3 So. Forward Texas
Tamara James 5-10 Jr. Forward/Guard Miami
Temeka Johnson 5-3 Sr. Guard LSU
Alexis Kendrick 5-7 Jr. Guard Georgia
Laurie Koehn 5-8 Sr. Guard Kansas State
Cathrine Kraayeveld 6-4 Sr. Forward OREGON
Ivory Latta 5-6 So. Guard North Carolina
Camille Little 6-1 So. Forward/Guard North Carolina
Sancho Lyttle 6-4 Sr. Center/Forward Houston
Kristen Mann 6-2 Sr. Forward UCSB
Janel McCarville 6-2 Sr. Center Minnesota
Jessica Moore 6-3 Sr. Center/Forward Connecticut
Lorre Moore 5-9 Sr. Guard Tennessee
Bernice Mosby 6-1 Jr. Forward Florida
Chelsea Newton 5-11 Sr. Guard Rutgers
Shawntinice Polk 6-5 Jr. Center ARIZONA
Cappie Pondexter 5-9 Sr. Guard Rutgers
Noelle Quinn 6-0 So. Guard UCLA
Kathrin Ress 6-4 So. Forward Boston College
Alesha Robertson 6-0 So. Forward Texas Tech
Heather Schreiber 6-2 Sr. Forward Texas
Khara Smith 6-2 Jr. Forward DePaul
Kim Smith 6-1 Jr. Forward Utah
Ann Strother 6-2 Jr. Guard Connecticut
Kelley Suminski 5-9 Sr. Guard STANFORD
Carla Thomas 6-3 So. Forward Vanderbilt
Barbara Turner 6-0 Jr. Forward/Guard Connecticut
Kendra Wecker 5-11 Sr. Forward Kansas State
Dee-Dee Wheeler 5-6 Sr. Guard ARIZONA
Tan White 5-7 Sr. Guard Mississippi State
Tanisha Wright 5-11 Sr. Guard Penn State
Sophia Young 6-1 Jr. Forward Baylor
Shanna Zolman 5-10 Jr. Guard Tennessee