Tina Frimpong Repeats as Pac-10 Player of the Year

Nov. 12, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Washington forward Tina Frimpong, the leading scorer for the 15th-ranked Huskies, was honored as the Pac-10 Women's Soccer Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Frimpong who shared 2003 Pac-10 Player of the Year honors with UCLA's Nandi Pryce, is the first player to receive the league's top player award twice in her career.

A product of Hudson's Bay High School in Vancouver, Wash., Fimpong tied for the league lead with six game-winning goals. She ranks third in the Pac-10 with 28 points this season and scored 12 regular-season goals to tie for second in the league. She helped guide the Huskies to a third-place Pac-10 finish.

Frimpong is Washington's all-time leader with 39 career goals, 90 points and 16 game-winning goals. She is only the second Washington player to receive Pac-10 Player of the Year honors, the other being Hope Solo in 2001.

Three other Washington players were honored this season by the conference. Senior midfielder Nikki Gamble was named to the All-Pac-10 second team while senior midfielder Kelley Schweighart and junior forward Kim Taylor were honorable mention selections.

Gamble (Oak Harbor, Wash./Oak Harbor HS) and Taylor (Woodland Hills, Wash.) are tied for the team lead with five assists. Gamble ranked second on the team with eight goals and Taylor was third with six. This marks the second Pac-10 honor for Taylor who was a second-team selection in 2003.

Dan Tobias was voted the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding Arizona to a share of the conference championship. Oregon State's Jodie Taylor received the Freshman of the Year award.


Player of the Year -- Tina Frimpong, Washington
Freshman of the Year -- Jodie Taylor, Oregon State
Coach of the Year -- Dan Tobias, Arizona

Nicole Barnhart, GK, Sr., Stanford
Tina Frimpong, F, Sr., Washington
Manya Makoski, MF, Jr., Arizona State
Iris Mora, F, Jr., UCLA
Jill Oakes, MF, Jr., UCLA
Lindsey Peeples, D, Sr., Arizona
Rosa Anna Tantillo, F, So., USC
Leah Tapscott, MF, Jr., Arizona State
Jodie Taylor, F, Fr., Oregon State
Marcie Ward, F, Sr., Stanford
Candice Wilks, F, Sr., Arizona

Bristyn Davis, F, So., UCLA
Hayley Hunt, D/MF, Jr., Stanford
Elizabeth Bogus, F, Jr. Arizona State
Nikki Gamble, MF, Sr., Washington
Stephanie Ebner, D, Jr., Arizona State
Alix Rustrum, F, Jr., Washington State
Courtney Hooker, D, Fr., California
Nikki Goza, D, Sr., USC
Mallory Miller, F/MF, Jr., ARIZ
Brittany Cooper, MF, Jr., Arizona State
Katie Hultin, GK, Jr., Washington State

Kelley Schweighart, F, Sr., Washington
Kim Taylor, F, Jr., Washington