Arrington Named Semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Nov. 16, 2004

BERKELEY - California senior tailback J.J. Arrington is one of eight semifinalists for the 2004 Doak Walker Award, the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced late Monday.

The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) for the national running back of the year honor are:

J.J. Arrington (Sr.)    CaliforniaCedric Benson (Sr.)     TexasRonnie Brown (Sr.)      AuburnReggie Bush (So.)       USCRyan Moats (Jr.)        Louisiana TechAdrian Peterson (Fr.)   OklahomaCarnell Williams (Sr.)  AuburnDeAngelo Williams (Jr.) Memphis

'I know that Doak would have loved the high standards represented by this group of eight semifinalists. These are young men of achievement, both on and off the field,' said Verne Lundquist, CBS sports broadcaster and member of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee.

Arrington currently leads the Pac-10 and ranks fourth in the country in rushing average with 157.2 ypg. He has run for at least 100 yards in a school-record nine consecutive games this season and, with 1,415 yards, needs just 46 yards to pass Chuck Muncie's 1975 Cal record of 1,460 yards.

The 154 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes this week to determine the 2004 recipient. On Tuesday, Nov. 23, three finalists will be named, and on Thursday, Dec. 9, the recipient of the 2004 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award will be presented at the 2004 Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet in Dallas on Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2005. John David Crow, former Texas A&M star running back, was named the recipient of the 2004 PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award and will also be honored at the banquet.