Men's Swimming Competes At 2004 Speedo Cup

Nov. 16, 2004

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford men's swimming team heads to Long Beach, Calif. for the 2004 Speedo Cup, hosted by UC Irvine. The invitational runs Thursday, November 18th through Saturday, November 20th at the Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool.

The Speedo Cup will feature a total of 578 swimmers from 13 schools for the men and 20 schools for the women. Top men's teams at the meet include No. 2 Stanford and No. 22 Brigham Young, No. 2-DII UC San Diego along with the host Anteaters. On the women's side No. 4 Stanford, defending Speedo Cup champion Oregon State, No. 3-DII UC San Diego and the host Anteaters.

Men's teams competing in the Speedo Cup include Air Force, Brigham Young, Stanford, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC San Diego, Metro State, Occidental, La Verne, UC Santa Cruz, Soka, Cal Lutheran, and Cal Baptist.

Stanford was won the team title five times in the history of the meet - 1993, 1994, 1996, 2001 and 2003.

Cardinal Shaun Phillips holds the meet record in the 1650 freestyle (15:14.74 in '03) while teammate Jayme Cramer is the meet record holder in the 200 butterfly (1:45.37 in '03).

Five former Cardinal swimmers hold six additional meet records. The 1994 Stanford relay team holds the meet record in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:28.63.