ASU Cross Country Places 12 Members on Academic All-Pac-10 Teams

Nov. 17, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz. - Twelve members of the Arizona State University cross country program earned Academic All-Pac-10 honors, it was announced Wednesday by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen. Four men and eight women attained the academic honors this season and were led by three men earning a position on the first team lists. Seven of the 12 student-athletes earned their first career academic honor as a member of the Sun Devil program.

On the men's side, Kal Clark, Jeremy Cramer and Ryan Warrenburg each earned first team honors, marking just the second time in program history (men and women) and the first for the men that three members of the team made the top list. In 2000, Lisa Aguilera, Mary Duerbeck and Beth Martin each earned first team honors for the women. Cramer also made history as he became the first male runner in ASU history to attain first team honors twice in a career. He also attained the honor last year. Clark earned his first academic award from the Pac-10 while Warrenburg improved upon his second-team honor of a year ago. The men's honorees were rounded out by second team selection Griffin Lee. It was the second honor for Lee in his career following an honorable mention nod from a year ago.

Eight women garnered academic honors from the conference this season led by a pair of first-time honorees. Both Brooke Bennett and Corey Randall earned places on the second team to pace the women while Jessica Crate, Anna Masinelli, Jessie McLaughlin and Cassie Rios each bringing home their first honors, all honorable mentions. Rounding out the honorees were Desiree Davila and Liz Lindgren, also honorable mentions. Lindgren took home honorable mention accolades for the second year in a row while Davila grabbed her third honorable mention in as many years.

On a historical note, the men entered the season with just two first-team selections with Garrett Jensen becoming the first man to win the honor in 2000 while Cramer was the second. The men also dominated the first-team selections by school with Arizona being the only other school with multiple first-teamers at two. Also earning selections were athletes from California, Washington, Washington State, Stanford and Oregon.

The men's and women's teams, both ranked seventh in the latest national coaches polls, will close out the 2004 season Monday as they compete in the 2004 NCAA Cross Country Championships at the Wabash Valley Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The women will run a 6K at 11 a.m. while the men close out the national competition with a 10K at 12:15 p.m.

2004 Academic All-Pac-10 Selections - Men
Kal Clark (1st Team)
Jeremy Cramer (1st Team)
Ryan Warrenburg (1st Team)
Griffin Lee (2nd Team)

2004 Academic All-Pac-10 Selections - Women
Brooke Bennett (2nd Team)
Corey Randall (2nd Team)
Jessica Crate (Honorable Mention)
Desiree Davila (Honorable Mention)
Liz Lindgren (Honorable Mention)
Anna Masinelli (Honorable Mention)
Jessie McLaughlin (Honorable Mention)
Cassie Rios (Honorable Mention)