ASU's Canizares To Compete In All-America Classic Nov. 21-23

Nov. 18, 2004

El Paso, Texas - Arizona State men's golfer Alejandro Canizares isone of 30 of the nation's elite collegiate golfers who have acceptedinvitations to compete in the 30th Annual Western Refining CollegeAll-America Golf Classic, scheduled for Nov. 21-23 at the El PasoCountry Club.

Canizares, the 2003 NCAA champion, had a 72.13 stroke average thisfall in three events. The junior won the Bandon Dunes (Ore.)Invitational. Billy Mayfair is th only Sun Devil to win the El Pasoevent with his 1986 championship.

This year's tournament features five Golfweek preseason first teamAll-Americans - Anthony Kim (Oklahoma), Luke List (Vanderbilt),Spencer Levin (New Mexico), Jeff Overton (Indiana) and Michael Putnam(Pepperdine). In all, 20 players in the field earned preseasonAll-America honors.

Four of the top six players on the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Indexare in the 2004 Golf Classic Field, led by the nation's top playerLevin, who was the low amateur at the 2004 U.S. Open. Texas juniorMatthew Rosenfeld ranks fourth on the list, while Indiana's JeffOverton and Duke's Ryan Blaum are fifth and sixth, respectively.

'We are really excited about the strength of the field,' said DonFlores, tournament chairman. 'From top to bottom, we have puttogether some of the nation's best players, who are the future of thesport.'

The 2004 field was extended to a record-high 30 golfers due to the 42eligible All-Americans. The largest previous field was in 1983 andagain in 1997, when 27 golfers competed in the Golf Classic.

Three players will be returning from last year's field - Putnam,Rosenfeld and CaƱizares, who won the 2003 NCAA Championships as afreshman. The tournament, hosted by the Sun Bowl Association, isplayed at the Par-71, 6,781-yard El Paso Country Club.Throughout the years, many Western Refining College All-America GolfClassic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in theProfessional Golfers' Association of America and on the PGA Tour.Some of the past champions include Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay(1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III(1984), Chris Nallen (2003), Jerry Pate (1974) and Tiger Woods (1995).

Each university is awarded a $1,000 scholarship if a golfer from thatschool competes in the tournament.