Huskies Sweep Pac-10 Men's Soccer Top Honors

Nov. 18, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- Washington senior midfielder C.J. Klaas was named Pac-10 Men's Soccer Co-Player of the Year, freshman forward Ely Allen was named Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and Dean Wurzberger earned Pac-10 Co-Coach of the Year honors, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

In addition to sweeping the league's top three honors, nine Huskies were selected to the All-Pac-10 team led by four-time honoree Klaas. Junior goalkeeper Chris Eylander, sophomore forward Kevin Forrest and Klaas were first-team selections, while junior midfielder Mike Chabala and sophomore defender Ty Harden earned second-team acclaim. Allen, senior forward Casey Armstrong, sophomore defender Will Flanagan and junior midfielder Jeff Hoover were honorable mention.

Klaas shares his Player of the Year honors with UCLA midfielder/defender Patrick Ianni, while Wurzberger shares his honor with UCLA coach Jorge Salcedo.

A senior midfielder from Cherry Valley, Ill., Klaas has been vital to Washington's success not only during the 2004 season, but throughout his career. The first four-time All-Pac-10 men's soccer player in conference history, Klaas has started 18 games this season and is second on the Huskies and eighth in the Pac-10 in goals (5) and points (15), and tied for first on the Huskies and third in the conference in assists (5). One of the nation's premier midfielders, Klaas has been named as a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy for the second consecutive year. Selected as a preseason All-American before this season, he became the first Husky ever to earn NSCAA first-team All-America honors in 2003. The Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2001, Klaas has twice been named as the Pac-10 Player of the Week, most recently on Oct. 12, 2004.

Allen, a freshman forward from Kent, Wash., made significant contributions in his first campaign for the Huskies, playing in all 19 games (one of just three Washington players to do so) and starting 17 contests. While helping Washington to its ninth NCAA Tournament berth in the past 10 seasons, Allen contributed three goals (tied for second among Pac-10 freshmen), one assist and seven points (tied for third among freshmen).

The longest tenured Pac-10 head coach, Wurzberger guided the 2004 Huskies to a 11-6-2 record and a berth in the NCAA Tournament. In the last 10 seasons, Wurzberger's Washington teams have been selected for the tournament nine times. In 13 years as head coach of the Huskies, he has accumulated a record of 164-68-25 - an average of more than 12 wins per season. In 2003, Wurzberger led Washington to the NCAA Sweet 16 - the deepest the Huskies had ever gone into the tournament. His 2000 team won the inaugural Pac-10 Conference championship, on the heels of two consecutive Mountain Pacific Sports Federation titles. In 1992, 1996 and 1998, he was named the NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year, and he was the MPSF Mountain Division Coach of the Year in 1992, 1996 and 1999. He was also MPSF Coach of the Year in 1998. Six of Wurzberger's former protégés now play in the MLS. In addition to developing athletes, Wurzberger has fostered scholarship among his players, as 21 Huskies have earned Pac-10 academic recognition over the past four seasons.

Washington hosts Portland in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, Friday, Nov. 19, at 6 p.m. at Husky Soccer Field.


Name Pos. Yr. School
Calen Carr* F/MF Jr. CAL
Mike Enfield MF Sr. UCLA
Chris Eylander GK Jr. WASH
Darren Fernandez F/MF Sr. STAN
Robbie Findley* F So. OSU
Kevin Forrest F So. WASH
Nick Hatzke MF Jr. CAL
Patrick Ianni MF/D So. UCLA
Ryan Johnson* F Jr. OSU
C.J. Klaas*** MF/D Sr. WASH
Aaron Lopez* D Sr. UCLA
Troy Roberts** D Sr. CAL
- Two way tie for the 11th spot resulted in a 12-player first team.

Name Pos. Yr. School
Carl Acosta* F Sr. CAL
Chad Barrett* F So. UCLA
Mike Chabala MF Jr. WASH
Benny Feilhaber MF So. UCLA
Ty Harden* D So. WASH
Matt Janusz F Sr. STAN
Eric Kronberg GK Jr. CAL
Cooper McKee MF Jr. STAN
Noah Merl* D/MF Sr. CAL
Brandon Owens D So. UCLA
Tyson Wahl* MF Jr. CAL
*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree
***four-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes):
Seyi Abolaji (Jr., MF/D, STAN); Ely Allen (Fr., F, WASH); Casey Armstrong (Sr., F, WASH); Michael Brown (So., MF/D, STAN); Alex Christensen (Fr., MF, OSU); Eric Ebert (So., MF, CAL); Will Flanagan (So., D, WASH); Robby Fulton (Sr., GK, STAN); Jordan Harvey (Jr., D, UCLA); Kamani Hill (Fr., F, UCLA); Jeff Hoover (Jr., MF/D, WASH); Aaron Maines (Sr., MF/D, STAN); Mike Munoz (Sr., MF, CAL); Kyle Navarro (Sr., D, CAL); Steve Purdy (So., MF/D, CAL); Angel Quintero (Jr., MF, CAL); Eric Reed (So., GK, UCLA); James Twellman (Sr., D, STAN).