Pac-10 Announces 2004 Men's Soccer Honors

Nov. 18, 2004


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

UCLA midfielder/defender Patrick Ianni and WASHINGTON midfielder C.J. Klaas were named Pac-10 Co-Players of the Year, Washington midfielder Ely Allen was named Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and UCLA coach Jorge Salcedo along with Washington coach Dean Wurzberger were named Pac-10 Co-Coaches of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

Ianni, a sophomore midfielder/defender from Lodi, Calif., leads a Bruin defense that has been one of the stingiest in the history of UCLA men's soccer. The Bruins are tied for first in the Pac-10 in goals allowed, having given up just 15 on the season and eight in Conference play. For the year, the Bruins have allowed 128 shots, including 64 on goal. UCLA goalkeepers have collected just 49 saves - the lowest total recorded by a Pac-10 team since Stanford in 2000 and the fewest by a Bruin team since 1992. Ianni and the Bruin defenders have limited opponents to single digit shots an astounding 11 times. In matches against UC Davis, San Diego and Stanford, the Bruins held the opposition to three, two and one shot, respectively. Ianni becomes the first sophomore to win Pac-10 Player of the Year honors.

A senior midfielder from Cherry Valley, Ill., Klaas has been vital to Washington's success not only during the 2004 season, but throughout his career. The first four-time All-Pac-10 men's soccer player in Conference history, Klaas has started 18 games this season and is second on the Huskies and eighth in the Pac-10 in goals (5) and points (15), and tied for first on the Huskies and third in the Conference in assists (5). One of the nation's premier fullbacks, Klaas has been named as a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy for the second consecutive year. Selected as a preseason All-American before this season, he became the first Husky ever to earn NSCAA first-team All-America honors in 2003. The Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2001, Klaas has twice been named as the Pac-10 Player of the Week, most recently on Oct. 12, 2004.

Allen, a freshman forward from Kent, Wash., made significant contributions in his first campaign for the Huskies, playing in all 19 games (one of just two Washington players to do so) and starting 17 contests. While helping Washington to its ninth NCAA Tournament berth in the past 10 seasons, Allen contributed three goals (tied for second among Pac-10 freshmen), one assist and seven points (tied for third among freshmen).

In his first season as head coach at UCLA, Salcedo guided the Bruins to the Pac-10 title and a No. 6 seed in the NCAA College Cup, which begins this week. En route to the Conference crown, Salcedo's squad won eight of its last nine matches and finished the season with a 6-1 record against ranked opponents. During Pac-10 play, the Bruins led the Conference in goals, assists, points, and goals allowed. The Bruins' assistant coach from 2001-03, Salcedo helped lead UCLA to the 2002 NCAA Championship and league titles in 2002 and 2003. A four year starter at UCLA as a player from 1990-93, he scored the decisive penalty kick in the shootout during the 1990 NCAA Championship game to give UCLA its second national title. In 1993, as a senior, he earned NSCAA first-team All-America honors. A veteran of Major League Soccer, the U.S. National Team and the international game, Salcedo served as the head coach of the 2002 U-16 SoCal ODP State team and was also the assistant coach of the U-17 team in 2001.

The longest tenured Pac-10 head coach, Wurzberger guided the 2004 Huskies to a 11-6-2 record and a berth in the NCAA Tournament. In the last 10 seasons, Wurzberger's Washington teams have been selected for the tournament nine times. In 13 years as head coach of the Huskies, he has accumulated a record of 164-68-25 - an average of more than 12 wins per season. In 2003, Wurzberger led Washington to the NCAA Sweet 16 - the deepest the Huskies had ever gone into the tournament. His 2000 team won the inaugural Pac-10 Conference championship, on the heels of two consecutive Mountain Pacific Sports Federation titles. In 1992, 1996 and 1998, he was named the NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year, and he was the MPSF Mountain Division Coach of the Year in 1992, 1996 and 1999. He was also MPSF Coach of the Year in 1998. Six of Wurzberger's former protégés now play in the MLS. In addition to developing athletes, Wurzberger has fostered scholarship among his players, as 21 Huskies have earned Pac-10 academic recognition over the past for seasons.



Calen Carr*, F/MF, Jr. , CAL
Mike Enfield, MF, Sr. , UCLA
Chris Eylander, GK, Jr. , WASH
Darren Fernandez, F/MF, Sr. , STAN
Robbie Findley*, F, So. , OSU
Kevin Forrest, F, So. , WASH
Nick Hatzke, MF, Jr. , CAL
Patrick Ianni, MF/D, So. , UCLA
Ryan Johnson*, F, Jr. , OSU
C.J. Klaas***, MF/D, Sr. , WASH
Aaron Lopez*, D, Sr. , UCLA
Troy Roberts**, D, Sr. , CAL
- Two way tie for the 11th spot resulted in a 12-player first team.


Carl Acosta*, F, Sr. , CAL
Chad Barrett*, F, So. , UCLA
Mike Chabala, MF, Jr. , WASH
Benny Feilhaber, MF, So. , UCLA
Ty Harden*, D, So. , WASH
Matt Janusz, F, Sr. , STAN
Eric Kronberg, GK, Jr. , CAL
Cooper McKee, MF, Jr. , STAN
Noah Merl*, D/MF, Sr. , CAL
Brandon Owens, D, So. , UCLA
Tyson Wahl*, MF, Jr. , CAL

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree
***four-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes):
Seyi Abolaji (Jr., MF/D, STAN); Ely Allen (Fr., F, WASH); Casey Armstrong (Sr., F, WASH); Michael Brown (So., MF/D, STAN); Alex Christensen (Fr., MF, OSU); Eric Ebert (So., MF, CAL); Will Flanagan (So., D, WASH); Robby Fulton (Sr., GK, STAN); Jordan Harvey (Jr., D, UCLA); Kamani Hill (Fr., F, UCLA); Jeff Hoover (Jr., MF/D, WASH); Aaron Maines (Sr., MF/D, STAN); Mike Munoz (Sr., MF, CAL); Kyle Navarro (Sr., D, CAL); Steve Purdy (So., MF/D, CAL); Angel Quintero (Jr., MF, CAL); Eric Reed (So., GK, UCLA); James Twellman (Sr., D, STAN).