#1 Cardinal Women, #2 Stanford Men Seek Another NCAA Title

Nov. 19, 2004

Terre Haute, In - The powerful Stanford women and men's cross country teams will seek to defend their 2003 NCAA titles when the Cardinal competes at the 2004 NCAA Division I Championships on Monday (Nov. 22) at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course.

The course is rolling and challenging. The women's competition is slated for 11:00 a.m. (et) and will cover 6,000 meters. At 12:15 p.m. (et), the men's competition will cover 10,000 meters.

The Stanford women picked up all 13 first place votes for 390 points in the latest FinishLynx/NCAA Division I Women's Cross Country National poll. Providence is second with 371 points while Colorado (364 points), Michigan (352 points) and Duke (336 points) round out the nation's Top 5.

The Cardinal men, the two-time NCAA defending champion, is ranked third in the latest Mondo Men's NCAA Division I poll. Stanford has collected 395 points in a vote conducted by the United States Cross Country Coaches Association. Wisconsin picked up 12 first place votes for 418 points. Arkansas collected two first place votes for 403 points.

Last year in one of the most dominating performances in NCAA history, the Stanford men posted a 150 point margin of victory over runnerup Wisconsin. Stanford tallied a winning score of 24 points while the Badgers collected 174 points. The margin of victory for Stanford was the largest in NCAA Division I history, besting the 122 point victory by Arkansas over BYU in 1993. The men's score of 24 points was the second lowest in NCAA history, behind the 17 point total by UTEP in 1981.

Led by the runnerup individual performance of Ryan Hall, the Stanford Cardinal placed four runners in the Top 10. Hall was timed in 29:15.4, a close second to NCAA champion Dathan Ritzenhein of Colorado at 29:14.1.

The Stanford men have won four NCAA cross country titles (1996, 1997, 2002, 2003) in the last eight years.

Led by a third place finish from Sara Bei and a sixth place finish from Alicia Craig, the Cardinal women prevailed in winning the national title over BYU by a score of 120 to 128. Bei finished with a time of 19:49.1 behind Shalane Flanagan of North Carolina (19:30.4) and Kim Smith of Providence (19:42.7). The victory was the second NCAA championship title for the Stanford women since 1996. The Cardinal women have finished third or better in seven of the last eight NCAA Cross Country championship meets.

Both the Stanford women's and men's teams have enjoyed highly successful seasons in 2004. The Cardinal women have won all six meets they have competed in in 2004. That included victories at the NCAA West Regional, the Pac-10 Championship and the Pre-NCAA's in Terre Haute, In. The Stanford men have five of their six meets.

At the NCAA West Regional (Nov. 13), Alicia Craig captured the individual title for a third straight season to lead Stanford to the team title for a sixth straight season. Craig ran the 6,000 meter course in a time of 20:03. Four Stanford runners finished in the Top 7 as the Cardinal took the team title with 29 points. The Stanford men won the NCAA Regional title for a ninth straight season. Stanford tallied 49 points to defeat Arizona State by 19 points. Ryan Hall, who finished second last year, paced the Cardinal victory with a first place showing over 10,000 meters (30:07). Two other Cardinal runners finished in the Top 10. Neftalem Araia finished third (30:16) while Jonathan Pierce placed tenth (30:41).

For the ninth straight season, the Stanford women captured the Pacific-10 title. Paced by second and third place finishes by Alicia Craig and Anita Siraki, Stanford tallied 30 points compared to 47 for runnerup Arizona State. ASU's Amy Hastings won the individual title with a time of 20:19 over 6,000 meters. Craig ran 20:26 while Siraki was timed in 20:46. Amanda Trotter finished sixth (21:08) while her twin sister, Katy Trotter, placed eighth (21:12).

For the fifth straight year, the Cardinal men's team earned the league title.The Stanford men collected 37 points compared to runnerup Arizona State with 64. Three Cardinal runners finished in the Top 10 led by Ryan Hall who battled Arizona's Robert Cheseret to the finish line. Cheseret edged Hall at the end, but both runners were timed in 23:48 over 8,000 meters. Jacob Gomez was fourth (24:28) while David Vidal placed eighth (24:39).

At the Pre-NCAA's (Oct. 16), Alicia Craig and Ryan Hall led Stanford to victory. Craig defeated 251 other runners in capturing the individual crown and helping the top-ranked Cardinal women to the team title with 49 points. Notre Dame finished a distance second with 111 points. Craig ran the 6,000 meters in a time of 20:20.4. Three Stanford runners, including Craig, finished in the Top 10. Anita Siraki finished sixth (20:42.8) while Katy Trotter placed eighth (20:48.9). Hall, in his season debut, led the Cardinal men to a first place title with 77 points. Notre Dame placed second with 165 points. Hall ran the 8,000 meter course in a time of 23:54.4. Hall was one of three Stanford runners to finish in the Top 10. Neftalem Araia placed fifth (24:01.0) while Jacob Gomez finished tenth (24:09.4).

Complete results of the NCAA Championships will be available on the Indiana State website (www.indstate.edu/athletic).

Stanford's Top Team Performances at the NCAA Championships

2003 - NCAA Champion
2002 - NCAA Champion
2001 - Second Place
2000 - Fourth Place
1999 - Fourth Place
1998 - Second Place
1997 - NCAA Champion
1996 - NCAA Champion
1995 - Fifth Place
1994 - Sixth Place
1968 - Second Place

2003 - NCAA Champion
2002 - Second Place
2001- Fifth Place
2000 - Third Place
1999 - Third Place
1998 - Third Place
1997 - Second Place
1996 - NCAA Champion
1995 - Ninth Place
1994 - Seventh Place
1984 - Second Place
1983 - Second Place
1982 - Second Place
1981 - Third Place