Stanford Announces 2004 Team Awards At Annual Banquet Sunday

Nov. 21, 2004

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford Football announced its 2004 team awards at its annual season-ending banquet at the Frances S. Arrillaga Alumni Center on campus Sunday. Alex Smith was named the team's Most Valuable Player Award after leading the Cardinal in receiving with 52 catches for 706 yards and three touchdowns in 2004. Smith also became Stanford's all-time reception leader for tight ends during the season and finished his career with 105 catches for 1291 yards and eight touchdowns.

A complete listing of 2004 Stanford Football team awards is listed below.

• Jon Alston (Gundelach Award - Most Outstanding Junior)
• Oshiomogho Atogwe (Jack Huston Award - Player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance and unheralded efforts)
• David Bergeron (Greg Piers Award - Most Outstanding Back In The Big Game)
• Greg Camarillo (Jim Evans Award - Senior player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all)
• Alex Fletcher (Greg Piers Award - Most Outstanding Offensive Service Team Player)
• Landon Johnson (Greg Piers Award - Most Outstanding Defensive Service Team Player)
• Evan Moore (Deswarte-Eller Award - Most Outstanding Sophomore)
• Jared Newberry (Al Masters Award - Player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates)
• Michael Okwo (Phil Moffat Award - Most Outstanding Defensive Special Teams Player)
• Babatude Oshinowo (The Vardell Award - Junior or senior player who best epitomizes excellence in both academics and athletics)
• Jay Ottovegio (Menlo-Atherton Trophy Award - Most Outstanding Freshman)
• T.J. Rushing (Phil Moffat Award - Most Outstanding Offensive Special Teams Player)
• Alex Smith (Most Valuable Player)
• Will Svitek (Greg Piers Award - Most Outstanding Lineman In The Big Game)

A full release will follow.