Chris Kluwe Named Ray Guy Award Finalist

Nov. 23, 2004

The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced today the threefinalists for the fifth annual Ray Guy Award recognizing the nation's topcollegiate punter. They are UCLA's Chris Kluwe, Michigan State's Brandon Fields and Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda.

Each of the ten semi-finalists was evaluated on his overall statistics andcontribution to his team with emphasis placed on the following categories:net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardageand percentage of punts not returned. A national selection committee ofcollege coaches, sports information directors and sports writers decided thethree finalists.

Kluwe, asenior from Seal Beach, CA is averaging 43.25 yards, and has had just 33percent of his punts returned for a total 141 yards (8.8 yard averagereturn). Fields, a sophomore from Toledo, OH, leads the NCAA in punting with a48.3-yard gross average, and 22 of 46 punts of 50-plus yards. Sepulveda, a sophomore from Dallas has landed 42 percent of hispunts inside the 20-yard line, allowing just 37 percent to be returned.

'These three finalists represent the best of the best in college punting,'said Ray Guy, the award's namesake. 'Their statistics speak for themselves,and I am certain there is a deserving Ray Guy Award winner among them.'

Guy, a native of the Augusta, GA area currently residing in Thomson, GA isconsidered the foremost authority on punting. A 2004 College Football Hallof Fame Inductee (Southern Mississippi), Guy was the first pure punter everdrafted in the first round of the NFL Draft when he was selected by theOakland Raiders in 1973. During his NFL career (1973-86) Guy punted in sevenPro Bowls (six consecutively) and three Super Bowl wins.

Previous Ray Guy Award winners are Kevin Stemke, University of Wisconsin(2000), Travis Dorsch, Purdue University (2001), Mark Mariscal, Universityof Colorado (2002) and B.J. Sander, Ohio State University (2003).

The 2004 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced on ESPN's The Home DepotCollege Football Awards, airing live on ESPN on Thursday, December 9, at 7p.m. EST. The Sports Council will also honor the winner, alongside the localrecipients of the 2004 Greater Augusta Medals for Excellence in Sports(G.A.M.E.S.) Awards, at the Greater Augusta Sports Awards Gala in early2005.