Marcedes Lewis Named Mackey Award Finalist

Nov. 23, 2004

The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) has announced its three finalists for the 2004 John Mackey Award. Marcedes Lewis of UCLA, Heath Miller of the University of Virginia, and Alex Smith of Stanford University are the final three candidates for 'The Mackey.'

The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) will announce the three finalists nationally on Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2004.

The Mackey Award winner will be announced on Dec. 9, 2004 and the official presentation of the award takes place on April 11, 2005 at the annual NCSC Awards Dinner.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey.

2004 Mackey Finalists

(in alphabetical order)

2004 Statistics (as of 11/22/04)

Player Year School G Rec Yds Yds/Game Avg. Lng TD

1. Marcedes Lewis JR UCLA 9 26 332 36.9 12.8 26 6

2. Heath Miller JR Virginia 9 34 440 48.9 12.9 54 5

3. Alex Smith SR Stanford 11 52 706 64.2 13.6 71 3