Andrew Walter Earns Pair Of Awards At Annual Football Awards Banquet

Nov. 27, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz.-- The Arizona State football team held its annual Awards Banquet at the Phoenician Resort in Phoenix on Saturday, November 27. The Awards Banquet honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the ASU football program over the past year (2004).

Senior quarterback Andrew Walter (Grand Junction, Colo.) earned two awards at the Awards Banquet, including Offensive Most Valuable Player and the Cecil Abono Co-Captain Award. In 2004, Walter passed John Elway on his way to setting a Pac-10 record with 85 career touchdown passes and set the ASU single-season record with 30 touchdown passes. A finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award, Walter is also the ASU career leader with 10,617 passing yards,1,416 pass attempts and 777 completions.

Senior defensive lineman Jimmy Verdon (Pomona, Calif.) was honored with three awards, including defensive Most Valuable Player, the Cecil Abono Co-Captain Award and Defensive MVP at Camp Tontozona. Verdon tallied 35 tackles on the season along with 8.5 tackles for loss. Verdon also recorded two sacks during the 2004 campaign. He scored a touchdown on a fumble return versus Arizona.

Senior offensive lineman Drew Hodgdon (Palo Alto, Calif.) took home two awards from the Awards Banquet, including the Sun Devil Iron Man Award and the Cecil Abono Co-Captain Award. Hodgdon anchored ASU's successful offensive line this season and started in seven games.

Also earning a Cecil Abono Co-Captain Award was senior defensive lineman Ishmael Thrower (Sacramento, Calif.). Thrower tallied 36 tackles this season with 9.5 of them for a loss. Thrower also recorded 9.5 sacks which is his career-high as a Sun Devil.

The Babe Alex Demon Award that is given to the special teams player of the year went to sophomore kicker Jesse Ainsworth. Ainsworth connected on 16 of 23 field goals this season, including a career-long 48-yard field goal. Also, senior safety Emmanuel Franklin (Houston, Texas) was awarded the Special Teams Iron Man Award. Franklin recorded 44 tackles during the season and led the team with four interceptions.

Sophomores Andrew Carnahan (Hereford, Texas) and Jason Burke (Glendale, Ariz.) were presented with the Clyde B. Smith Award for their academic achievement in 2004. Carnahan started every game at right tackle for the Sun Devils in 2004.

The award for Outstanding Offensive Lineman was given to junior Grayling Love (Sacramento, Calif.). Love showed his versatility by starting four games at left tackle, six at right guard and one at center this season.

True freshman tight end Zach Miller (Phoenix, Ariz.) earned the Bill Kajikawa Sun Devil Award given to the outstanding freshman. Miller caught 51 passes for 524 yards and six touchdowns in his first season wearing the maroon and gold.

Miller and junior linebacker Dale Robinson (Queens, New York) were newcomer award winners for their efforts at Camp Tontozona. Robinson tallied a team-leading 82 tackles, including 10 of them for loss. Also, Robinson recorded 3.5 sacks for 37 yards.

Sophomore offensive lineman Stephen Berg (Tucson, Ariz.) earned the Mike Barholomew Most Improved Offensive Player Award. Berg started in 10. games this season for the Sun Devils.

The Gail Scott Most Improved Defensive Player Award was presented to sophomore defensive lineman Jordan Hill (Pocatello, Idaho). Hill converted from linebacker to defensive tackle this season and recorded 6.5 sacks. He also had 40 tackles, including a team-leading 10.5 for loss.

The Pat Tillman Valor Award, formerly the Sun Devil Valor Award, was given to junior h-back Lee Burghgraef (Corona, Calif.) and junior linebacker Jamar Williams (Houston, Texas) for courage and being great team players. Burghgraef caught six passes for 61 yards this season. Williams notched 75 tackles and intercepted three passes for 69 yards during the season.

Freshman quarterback Rudy Carpenter (Westlake, Calif.) earned the McBurney Scout Team Award given to a player on the offensive scout team. Freshman tight end Kellen Mills (Mesa, Ariz.) was presented with the Glen Hawkins Scout Team Award for defense.

Freshman offensive lineman Mike Pollak (Tempe, Ariz.) and freshman linebacker Robert James (Glendale, Ariz.) were recognized as the offensive most valuable player at Camp Tontozona and special teams most valuable player at Camp Tontozona, respectively.

The Frank Kush Award, given for outstanding support of the ASU football program was presented to Jim Clonts and Jerry Mortensen. The award is sponsored annually by the Varsity 'A' Association.