Women's Volleyball Begins NCAA Postseason Play In Florida

Nov. 28, 2004

The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2004 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The seventh-ranked Stanford women's volleyball team was selected as the 11th seed overall and will face Jacksonville in the first round on December 3 at 5 p.m. ET in Tallahassee, Florida.

Other teams joining Stanford and Jacksonville in Tallahassee will be Florida and Florida A&M. Florida and Florida A&M will play at 7 p.m. ET on December 3. The two winners will meet on Saturday, December 4 at 7 p.m. ET.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were Nebraska, Penn State, Hawaii and Minnesota.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first and second rounds.

The Big Ten and Big 12 led all conferences with seven teams selected. Two conferences landed six teams including the Big West and Pacific-10. Four teams Pacific, Penn State, Stanford and UC Santa Barbara have earned bids to all 24 championships. Eight teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Albany (New York), Iona, Jacksonville, Long Island, Rice, Towson, Wichita State and Yale.

In the 24-year history of the championship, nine schools have been crowned champion, all of which are in this year's bracket, including the defending champion Southern California.

Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001), Hawaii (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State (1989, 93, 98), UCLA (1984, 90, 91), Pacific (1985, 86), Nebraska (1995 and 2000), Southern California (1981, 2003, 2004) and Penn State (1999).

The Cardinal ended the regular season with a 24-6 record, 15-3 in the Pac-10. They will take a nine-match winning streak into the postseason.