Leinart, Bush, Cody Win Pac-10 Player Of The Year Honors

Nov. 29, 2004

Quarterback Matt Leinart and tailback Reggie Bush were named 2004 Pac-10 Co-Offensive Players of the Year, while defensive lineman Shaun Cody was Pac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Besides that trio, four other Trojans made the All-Pac-10 first team: defensive tackle Mike Patterson, linebackers Matt Grootegoed and Lofa Tatupu and punter Tom Malone. Bush made the first team as both a tailback and punt returner, and the second team as a kickoff returner.

Trojans on the All-Pac-10 second team were tailback LenDale White, offensive tackle Sam Baker and safety Darnell Bing. Tailback Desmond Reed made it as a special teams player.

USC's honorable mention All-Pac-10 players were tight ends Dominique Byrd and Alex Holmes, wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett, safety Jason Leach, linebacker Dallas Sartz, defensive tackle Manuel Wright and cornerback Justin Wyatt.

This is the second year in a row that Leinart won the league's Offensive MVP. He's the fourth player (and just the second quarterback) to win that honor twice, joining USC's Charles White (1978-79), Stanford's John Elway (1980-82) and Washington State's Rueben Mayes (1984-85). It's also the third year in a row that a Trojan has been the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year (quarterback Carson Palmer won it in 2002).

Cody, who shared the honor with Oregon State defensive end Bill Swancutt, is USC's first All-Pac-10 Defensive MVP since linebacker Chris Claiborne in 1998. He is also the first Trojan defensive lineman so honored.

California's Jeff Tedford was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, while Arizona State tight end Zach Miller was the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year.