Pac-10 Announces 2004 Volleyball All-Conference Team

Nov. 29, 2004


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

STANFORD senior outside hitter Ogonna Nnamani has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

Nnamani, a four-time All-Pac-10 selection, becomes the ninth Stanford player to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year. Those nine players have combined to win the Pac-10 Player of the Year honor a total of 11 times. She is also the 10th player in Pac-10 history to be named All-Conference four times. Nnamani led Stanford to a second place finish in Pac-10 play at 15-3, and the Cardinal enter NCAA Tournament play with a 24-6 record overall.

Nnamani, a native of Normal, Ill., led the Pac-10 Conference in kills (5.88 kpg) and points (6.55 ppg), while posting the league's sixth best attack percentage (.343) this season. She has posted a Stanford single-season record 658 kills this season. During her career, the 2004 USA Olympic team member has collected a Pac-10 record 2,285 kills on a league record 5,164 attack attempts. She also has tallied double digit kills in 59 consecutive matches.

Morrison, an outside hitter from Puyallup, Wash., is second in the Pac-10 averaging 4.40 kills and 5.01 points. She has posted 12 double-doubles on the season in leading the Huskies to their first-ever Pac-10 volleyball title. Morrison becomes the first Husky to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors.

Jim McLaughlin has been tabbed as the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding Washington to a 16-2 league record and its first-ever Pac-10 title. The Huskies opened the season with a school-record 22-match winning streak and finished the regular season at 24-2 overall. Washington has been ranked in the top 10 all season and held the No. 1 ranking in the USA Today/CSTV Top 25 poll for seven weeks. McLaughlin, who earns the honor for the second time in three seasons, has a career record of 159-81 (.663) in eight seasons, including a record of 78-38 (.672) in four seasons at Washington. Prior to Washington, McLaughlin spent four years at Kansas State, compiling a 81-43 (.653) record.


Emily Adams, USC***, MB, 6-5, Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.
Keao Burdine, USC***, OH, 6-1, Sr., La Habra, Calif.
Bibiana Candelas, USC**, MB, 6-5, Jr., Torreon, Mexico
Kim Glass, ARIZ***, OH, 6-2, Jr., Lancaster, Pa.
Brie Hagerty, WASH, OH, 6-1, Jr., Defiance, Ohio
Jolene Killough, ARIZ, MB, 6-5, Sr., Canyon Country, Calif.
Candace Lee, WASH, L, 5-7, Jr., Eugene, Ore.
Camille Leffall, CAL, MH, 6-1, Sr., Upland, Calif.
Christal Morrison, WASH, OH, 6-2, Fr., Puyallup, Wash.
Ogonna Nnamani, STAN****, OH, 6-1, Sr., Normal, Ill.
Angie Pressey, CAL, OH, 5-8, Fr., Heathrow, Fla.
Kristin Richards, STAN**, OH, 6-0, So., Orem, Utah
Courtney Thompson, WASH, S, 5-8, So., Kent, Wash.
Chrissie Zartman, UCLA***, L, 5-5, Sr., Hermosa Beach, Calif.

** two-time selection
*** three-time selection
**** four-time selection

Honorable Mention: Gabrielle Abernathy, CAL; Samantha Carter, CAL; Becky Green, UCLA; Jennifer Hucke, STAN; Bre Ladd, ARIZ; Allison Lawrence, OSU; Sarah Mason, ORE; Krystal McFarland, UCLA; Nana Meriwether, UCLA; Brynn Murphy, UCLA; Darla Myhre, WASH; Alicia Powers, CAL; Debora Seilhamer, USC; Jennifer Todd, WSU.


Sydney Donahue, ASU, L, 5-7, Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Sarah Florian, USC, OH, 6-1, Toledo, Ohio
Franci Girard, STAN, MB, 6-2, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Bryn Kehoe, STAN, S, 5-11, North Bend, Ohio
Collette Meek, ASU, MB, 6-1, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Can.
Christal Morrison, WASH, OH, 6-2, Puyallup, Wash.
Angie Pressey, CAL, OH, 5-8, Heathrow, Fla.

Honorable Mention: Nina Baltimore, OSU; Diane Copenhagen, USC; Rachel Mittelstaedt, ASU.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford
PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Christal Morrison, Washington
PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Jim McLaughlin, Washington