Kelley Suminski Nominated for 2004-2005 BayerAdvantage Senior CLASS Award

Nov. 30, 2004

Stanford, Calif. - Senior guard Kelley Suminski (Chester, N.J./Mendham) has been nominated for the 2004-05 Bayer Advantage® Senior CLASS Award, the award's organizing committee announced yesterday. The Senior Class Award, an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, was launched during the 2001-02 season and is presented annually to the nation's senior player-of-the-year for NCAA Division I men's and women's basketball. It is designed to honor the attributes of seniors who remain committed to their university and elect to pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring.

Suminski, a four-year starter for fifth-ranked Stanford (5-0), is averaging 10.8 points and 2.0 assists per game early in her senior campaign. Against Louisiana-Lafayette last week at the Great Alaska Shootout, Suminski became the 25th player in school history to score 1,000 points in her career with her first basket of the game. She is also ranked No. 1 in the Stanford record books in free throw percentage with a .842 mark in her career.

The list of the top-30 female college basketball players entering her senior season will be narrowed down when a national media committee selects 10 finalists for the award next February. When the season reaches the NCAA Tournament in March, nationwide fan balloting will be coupled with results from voting by coaches and media to determine the male and female winner. Legendary sportscaster Dick Enberg, who initiated the idea for the award and now serves as Honorary Chairman, will announce the winner during the CBS telecast of the NCAA Men's Final Four.

2004-05 Bayer Advantage® Senior CLASS Award Candidates

Taylor Coppenrath University of Vermont Jacqueline Batteast University of Notre Dame
Travis Diener Marquette University Nikita Bell University of North Carolina
B.J. Elder Georgia Tech University Steffanie Blackmon Baylor University
Daniel Ewing Duke University Natasha Brackett Auburn University
Channing Frye University of Arizona Ashley Burke Gonzaga University
Ryan Gomes Providence College Jamie Carey University of Texas
Joey Graham Oklahoma State University Jessalyn Deveny Boston College
Danny Granger University of New Mexico Shyra Ely University of Tennessee
Michael Harris Rice University Katie Feenstra Liberty University
Chuck Hayes University of Kentucky Kristin Haynie Michigan State University
Chris Hill Michigan State University Sandora Irvin Texas Christian University
Julius Hodge North Carolina State Dionnah Jackson University of Oklahoma
Keith Jackson Xavier University Temeka Johnson Louisiana State University
Keith Langford University of Kansas Lauri Koehn Kansas State University
David Lee University of Florida Cathrine Kraayeveld University of Oregon
Jamaal Levy Wake Forest University Sancho Lyttle University of Houston
John Lucas, Jr. Oklahoma State University Kristen Mann California - Santa Barbara
Jason Maxiell University of Cincinnati Caity Matter Ohio State University
Juan Mendez Niagara University Janel McCarville University of Minnesota
Aaron Miles University of Kansas Jessica Moore University of Connecticut
Spencer Nelson Utah State University Loree Moore University of Tennessee
Roger Powell, Jr. University of Illinois Chelsea Newton Rutgers University
Lawrence Roberts Mississippi State University Cappie Pondexter Rutgers University
Luke Schenscher Georgia Tech University Heather Schreiber University of Texas
Wayne Simien University of Kansas Charlene Smith DePaul University
Salim Stoudamire University of Arizona Kelley Suminski Stanford University
Chris Thomas University of Notre Dame Kendra Wecker Kansas State University
Ronny Turiaf Gonzaga University Dee-Dee Wheeler University of Arizona
Hakim Warrick Syracuse University Tan White Mississippi State University
Jawad Williams University of North Carolina Tanisha Wright Penn State University