Amy Hastings Selected at Pac-10 Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Dec. 1, 2004

Pac-10 Conference Release (in pdf)
Download Free Acrobat Reader

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Pacific-10 Conference bestowed honors upon seven members of the Arizona State University cross country program, including naming Amy Hastings as the Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Wednesday. Hastings joins a trio of women and a trio of men on the all-conference teams that were selected based upon an individuals finish at the Pac-10 Championships, held Oct. 30 at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco, Calif.

Hastings (Jr., Leavenworth, Kan.), the first Sun Devil to win a conference cross country championship title in the history of the program, clocked a 20:19 to win the crown before placing second at the NCAA West Region Championships and 22nd at the NCAA Championships to earn her second All-America honor. She joins Lisa Aguilera (2000) as the only Sun Devils to have won cross country athlete of the year honors. A winner of two races this season, Hastings tied the school record for career individual victories at four prior to earning a spot on the All-Pac-10 First Team for the second season in a row and her third all-conference cross country honor.

Senior Desiree Davila (Chula Vista, Calif.) also earned first team honors after placing fifth at the conference race. The award marked the third year in a row she was honored following a pair of second team finishes. By joining Hastings, the duo made program history by marking the first time that two harriers from ASU were selected to the conference's first team. Their teammates, Victoria Jackson (Grad., Lake Bluff, Ill.) and Anna Masinelli (Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.), each earned second team accolades. Jackson, a transfer from North Carolina, took home her first Pac-10 honor while Masinelli added second team honors for the second year in a row.

On the men's side, Aaron Aguayo (Jr., ) earned first team honors to pace the men following his third-place finish in the conference race. The honor is the first of his career, capping a season in which he shined for the men this season, placing fourth at the regional race and 16th at the NCAA meet to pace the men to historic finishes. The Sun Devils finished second in the Pac-10, second in the region and eighth at the national meet (all records) while their runner-up placement at the regional race marked the first time in school history that the men automatically qualified for the national championships.

Junior transfer Velibor Radojevic (Belgrade, Serbia) placed 10th in the conference race to earn second team accolades while Ryan Warrenburg (Jr., Franklin, Ind.) captured 15th to earn the final all-conference spot. Both men earned their first Pac-10 honor.

The harriers will join the sprinters, jumpers and throwers on the track in late January as the indoor season begins with the annual Double Dual against Northern Arizona and Arizona in Flagstaff. The meet will be held Jan. 22.

2004 Women's Athlete of the Year: Amy Hastings (ASU)

Women's 2004 All-Pac-10 Selecions
Amy Hastings (1st Team)
Desiree Davila (1st Team)
Victoria Jackson (2nd Team)
Anna Masinelli (2nd Team)

Men's 2004 All-Pac-10 Selections
Aaron Aguayo (1st Team)
Velibor Radojevic (2nd Team)
Ryan Warrenburg (2nd Team)