Arizona's Cheseret and Arizona State's Hastings Named Cross Country Athletes of the Year

Dec. 1, 2004


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ARIZONA's Robert Cheseret and ARIZONA STATE's Amy Hastings were named the Pacific-10 Conference Cross Country Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Cheseret, a sophomore from Kapsabet, Kenya, took top honors at the Pac-10 Championships when he crossed the line in 23:48 to become the first Arizona runner to win the title since Abdi Abdirahman in 1998. Cheseret finished second (30:12) at the NCAA West Region and earned All-America honors with a ninth-place finish (31:05) at the NCAA Championships.

Hastings, a junior from Leavenworth, Kan., took top honors at the Pac-10 Championships with a clocking of 20:19, placed second (20:14) at the NCAA West Region, and finished 22nd (20:56) at the NCAA Championships in leading the Sun Devils to a ninth-place finish. Hastings is the first-ever Sun Devil to capture the top spot at the Pac-10 Championships. She's the second Sun Devil to be selected as Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, joining Lisa Aguilera who was honored in 2000.

ARIZONA freshman Mohamed Trafeh, from Duarte, Calif., was named the Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships, finishing 23rd (25:09). He also placed 23rd (31:07) at the NCAA West Region.

STANFORD freshman Teresa McWalters, from San Francisco, Calif., was named the Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. McWalters, who finished 11th (21:22) at the Pac-10 Championships - tops among all Pac-10 freshmen, was key in leading the Stanford women to their ninth straight Pac-10 title. She was impressive in finishing fifth (20:37) at the NCAA West Region and was Stanford's second finisher at the NCAA Championships with a 46th place showing (21:17).

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Stanford's Andrew Gerard was named men's Coach of the Year, while Stanford's Dena Evans was named women's Coach of the Year.

Gerard captures the men's coaching honor for the second consecutive year. The Cardinal men won their eighth Pac-10 title in the last nine years, edging Arizona State by a 27-point margin of victory. The Cardinal also took first place at the NCAA West Region before finishing sixth at the NCAA Championships.

Evans also earns Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year. The Cardinal won their ninth consecutive Pac-10 title with a 17-point margin of victory over Arizona State, took the team title at the NCAA West Region and finished the year with a fifth-place showing at the NCAA Championships.

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.



First Team

Robert Cheseret, So., Arizona
Ryan Hall, Sr., Stanford
Aaron Aguayo, Jr., Arizona State
Jacob Gomez, So., Stanford
Jon Rankin, Sr., UCLA
Mark Mandi, Jr., Washington
David Vidal, Jr., Stanford

Second Team
Ryan Andrus, Sr., Oregon
Danny Wolf, Sr., Washington State
Velibor Radejovic, Jr., Arizona State
Brett Gotcher, So., Stanford
Eric Logsdon, Sr., Oregon
Peter Meindl, So., Stanford
Ryan Warrenburg, Jr., Arizona State

Athlete of the Year
Robert Cheseret, So., Arizona

Newcomer of the Year
Mohamed Trafeh, Fr., Arizona

Coach of the Year
Andrew Gerard, Stanford


First Team

Amy Hastings, Jr., Arizona State
Alicia Craig, Sr., Stanford
Anita Siraki, Sr., Stanford
Laura Harmon, Sr., Oregon
Desiree Davila, Sr., Arizona State
Amanda Trotter, So., Stanford
Dallon Williams, So., Washington

Second Team
Katy Trotter, So., Stanford
Victoria Jackson, Sr., Arizona State
Iryna Vashchuk, Sr., USC
Teresa McWalters, Fr., Stanford
Jeane Goff, Sr., Stanford
Anna Masinelli, Jr., Arizona State
Lauren Centrowitz, Fr., Stanford

Athlete of the Year
Amy Hastings, Jr., Arizona State

Newcomer of the Year
Teresa McWalters, Fr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Dena Evans, Stanford

* - All-Conference teams determined by order of finish at the Pac-10 Championships.