Huskies Williams, Mandi Named First-Team All-Pac-10

Dec. 1, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington sophomore Dallon Williams and junior Mark Mandi each received first-team honors Wednesday on the Pac-10's all-conference cross country squads, as announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen. Wednesday's announcement marks the first time since 2001, and just the fourth time in school history, that both a UW men's and women's runner have shared the honor in the same season.

A native of Turlock, Calif., Williams helped lead the UW women to an eighth-straight NCAA Championships appearance, the sixth-longest active streak of NCAA appearances in the nation. The sophomore led all Husky finishers at October's Pac-10 Championships with a seventh-place effort, and earned All-West Region acclaim with a 17th-place finish at the 2004 NCAA West Regional.

Mariner High School (Everett, Wash.) grad Mandi also excelled in 2004, earning his first career victory at September's Sundodger Invitational and leading Washington at the Pac-10 Championships with a sixth-place finish, equaling the fourth-best ever by a Husky men's runner at the conference meet.

Arizona's Robert Cheseret and Arizona State's Amy Hastings were named the conference's Athletes of the Year on the strength of their respective victories at the Pac-10 Championships. The Wildcats' Mohamed Trafeh edged out Washington's Jeremy Mineau for newcomer of the year by just seven seconds at the Pac-10 meet, while Stanford's Teresa McWalters was named the top newcomer on the women's side.

Stanford coaches Andrew Gerard and Dena Evans were named men's and women's coaches of the year, respectively, after leading their squads to a fifth-straight sweep of Pac-10 team cross country titles.

2004 Pac-10 Cross Country Honors
Men's All-Pac-10 First Team:
Robert Cheseret, So., ARIZ; Ryan Hall, Sr., STAN; Aaron Aguayo, Jr., ASU; Jacob Gomez, So., STAN; Jon Rankin, Sr., UCLA; Mark Mandi, Jr., UW; David Vidal, Jr., STAN.
Men's All-Pac-10 Second Team: Ryan Andrus, Sr., ORE; Danny Wolf, Sr., WSU; Velibor Radejovic, Jr., ASU; Brett Gotcher, So., STAN; Eric Logsdon, Sr., ORE; Peter Meindl, So., STAN; Ryan Warrenburg, Jr., ASU.
Men's Athlete of the Year: Robert Cheseret, So., ARIZ
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Mohamed Trafeh, Fr., ARIZ
Men's Coach of the Year: Andrew Gerard, STAN
Women's All-Pac-10 First Team: Amy Hastings, Jr., ASU; Alicia Craig, Sr., STAN; Anita Siraki, Sr., STAN; Laura Harmon, Sr., ORE; Desiree Davila, Sr., STAN; Amanda Trotter, So., STAN; Dallon Williams, So., UW
Women's All-Pac-10 Second Team: Katy Trotter, So., STAN; Victoria Jackson, Sr., ASU; Iryna Vaschuk, Sr., USC; Teresa McWalters, Fr., STAN; Jeane Goff, Sr., STAN; Anna Masinelli, Jr., ASU; Lauren Centrowitz, Fr., STAN.
Women's Athlete of the Year: Amy Hastings, Jr., Arizona State
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Teresa McWalters, Fr., Stanford
Women's Coach of the Year: Dena Evans, Stanford