Leinart, Bush, Grootegoed Named To Football Coaches All-America Team

Dec. 2, 2004

Quarterback Matt Leinart, tailback Reggie Bush and linebacker Matt Grootegoed were named to the 2004 American Football Coaches Association All-America first team.

In history, Trojans have made first team All-American 132 times.

Leinart was an All-American last season, while this is the first honor for Bush--who made the AFCA team as a return specialist--and Grootegoed.

Leinart, a junior, has completed 66.2% of his passes (227-of-343) for 2,748 yards and 28 TDs with just 5 interceptions in 2004. He has 66 career TD passes and USC is 23-1 when he starts. He is a finalist for the 2004 Davey O'Brien Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, Maxwell Award and Cingular Wireless/ABC Sports All-America Player of the Year Award. He recently won his second Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Bush, a multi-purpose junior, is seventh nationally in all-purpose running (167.8), as well as eighth in both punt returns (16.7) and kickoff returns (27.2). In his career, he has proven to be a 5-way threat as he has produced touchdowns via rushing, receiving, kickoff returning, punt returning and passing. He has scored 21 TDs and has 3,1773 all-purpose yards in his 24-game career. He shared the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year Award with Leinart this season.

Grootegoed, a senior who is a 204 Butkus Award finalist and a 2-time All-Pac-10 first teamer, has 59 tackles this year, including 12.5 for losses (with 3 sacks). He also has a team-best 4 interceptions.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all four of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best, the coaches themselves.